semibrick. How to fix?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by weirdfate, Oct 26, 2008.

Oct 26, 2008

semibrick. How to fix? by weirdfate at 11:50 PM (2,045 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    ok messing around with the wii tryn to install the update hacks after i updated and uninstalled the ciso, im a dumb ass.
    and tryn downgarder i semibricked my wii.

    do i need to have a mod chip to fix this or are there other options?

    I cant get into the settings menu, i read that thats a semibrick.

    thankyou
     
  2. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    if you have the homebrew channel installed you just can reinstall your wii or you just need to have a game that has a higher firmware
     
  3. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    ok im confused?

    i have the new update and cant install any other firmware from the downgrader
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Find the new Nintendo update in a disc, I believe GHWT has it
     
  5. Chinman

    Member Chinman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    does your wii have a modchip installed, what have you got or had installed? details of brick, how far does it get, can you load a game. the more you can tell us about your wii the better. thanks
     
  6. DarkSzero

    Newcomer DarkSzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Wii Music has 3.3 on it.
    You could try the downgrader.

    If you're semibricked with 3.3 and can't use the downgrader, I think you're screwed then.
     
  7. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    yep i got the newest updates.

    cant get the wii options menu to open. goes to an error page opera

    games load

    no mod chip

    im in deep shit?
     
  8. SanGor

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
    use AnyRegion Changer to fix your Wiis region in the settings.txt and you'll be fine.
     
  9. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    well any reagon did not work unless im doing it wrong?
     
  10. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Do you have 3.3 system menu or 3.2 system menu at the moment?
    If you have 3.3
    ------------------
    You have no options as of now... you have latest update and do not have custom ios so you can't downgrade using homebrew...

    You need a game that has 3.4 update which is not available at the moment...

    You need a new hack that bypasses the latest update which is not out yet...

    So at the moment you should be careful not to convert it into a full brick,
    ------------------

    If you have 3.2
    ------------------
    You should be able to unbrick it using a game that has 3.3 system menu update like wiimusic
    ------------------
     
  11. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    think i have 3.3 damn it to hell!!!!!
    what if i call nintendo and see if i could send it in and get it fixed??
    think they would come to my house and kill me because of the hacks i have done?
     
  12. ianz

    Member ianz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Nah they just kill your dog, cat and goldfish and make you watch!
    Then they strap you on a tree and trow wii motes at you.
     
  13. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    hahahah!

    my only fear is to get one of thoes new wii's with the crap all over the chip inside so if i want to get a mod chip i need to jump all over to get it on.
     
  14. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    If you send it to Nintendo, they are going to erase everything and then install the newest update and the things you've already bought, bye bye the HBC or any .wad illegaly instaled
     
  15. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Your best bet is now to wait for the release of the bootmii. the exploit used to install the homebrew channel beta9 may hopefully be published then...
     
  16. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    damn i dont know what to do hear.

    i heard that you cant play online with a semi bricked wii?

    the people that made HB are going to keep this bug to them self's i can see that happening. think they said that on there site.

    if i call nintendo and explane my problem there going to know i hacked/mod my wii, wil they void my waranty?
     
  17. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    ok i called nintendo and they said its gona cost me $200 to send it to them cause the error i get is hacking error.

    if i get a mod chip and get the "repair disk" that was talked about hear could i recover this semibrick or am i SOL because its updated to the latest firmware???

    I tried the region changer and i get an error when i try to change the region.
    something about sysconfig ????
     
  18. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    you can still play games, so just wait for 3.4

    It's not like the settings menu has anything important in anyway. ;p
     
  19. weirdfate
    OP

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    i guess but that could be month's... How will i get this update anyway if i cant even access the update via the message it goes to the same error page?
     
  20. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Buy a game that has the new update on the disc.
     

Share This Page