Hacking SD WADs/GCN backups

Donavin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
82
Country
United States
Hey guys,

I am usually a 'Do it yourself' guy, but sadly I've found I must finally ask for help.

I recently decided to mod my Wii, and have gotten everything I wanted except two things.

I'm trying to install/run my WADs from SD Card, without having them on the Wii. I know if I leave them on the Wii, and copy 'em to the SD it'll run, but when I have them on the SD Card but not the Wii I get 'Failed to Launch". I have tried so many different methods, but sadly since all the posts are 4-6 years old and it constantly re-routes me to a "No longer valid! Do not use!!!" tid bit.

I am using YAWMM to install the wads, which works successfully. I have cIOS, and Homebrew etc. I feel like I'm just missing some tiny program that would simplify it.

I've tried copying NAND from my system and using Wii VC, but still same result....

A link to a guide would be fine, just a guide that is up-to-date.

My other issue is I can't seem to get any GameCube backups to work. I've been using USB Loader, and I've "installed" DiosMios Lite (They're on my SD, but I also have 'em on USB just in case) and everything populates like it should but it never displays the game.

My main issue is the WAD on the SD thing. Anyone know of a work around, that is current?

Thanks, a lot.
 

Adeka

Beta Tester
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2013
Messages
4,168
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,633
Country
United States
I can help you with your GameCube problem

DIOS MIOS (lite) is outdated now. You should be using Nintendont
 

Donavin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
82
Country
United States
I can help you with your GameCube problem

DIOS MIOS (lite) is outdated now. You should be using Nintendont

Nintendont? okay, I'll start looking into that one. I've seen it's name on a lot of the 2011/2012 posts in regards to usurping "TriiForce", which I didn't get to work successfully.

With Nintendont is there any specific naming/format I need for the .gcn .iso's?
 

Adeka

Beta Tester
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2013
Messages
4,168
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,633
Country
United States
Nintendont? okay, I'll start looking into that one. I've seen it's name on a lot of the 2011/2012 posts in regards to usurping "TriiForce", which I didn't get to work successfully.

With Nintendont is there any specific naming/format I need for the .gcn .iso's?

It uses the same folder layout as DIOS MIOS and Devolution

also if you have a .gcn then just rename it to .iso

Nintendont can run triforce games too

Check the first link in my signature for more information
 

Donavin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
82
Country
United States
It uses the same folder layout as DIOS MIOS and Devolution

also if you have a .gcn then just rename it to .iso

Nintendont can run triforce games too

Check the first link in my signature for more information

I actually did that right after replying to you!

Again, thanks for the quick reply.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
With Nintendont is there any specific naming/format I need for the .gcn .iso's?

Sort of. If I recall, it looks in the "games" folder on your USB device or SD card, and there you create folders named whatever you want, but inside each game iso has to be named "game.iso", with one per folder (unless it's a 2-disk game, in which case the 2nd game disk needs to be named "disk2.iso"). Adeka can correct me if I'm wrong, though. I have not used Nintendont in like 3 months.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Adeka

Donavin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
82
Country
United States
Sort of. If I recall, it looks in the "games" folder on your USB device or SD card, and there you create folders named whatever you want, but inside each game iso has to be named "game.iso", with one per folder (unless it's a 2-disk game, in which case the 2nd game disk needs to be named "disk2.iso"). Adeka can correct me if I'm wrong, though. I have not used Nintendont in like 3 months.


Perfect. Running the GCN ISO convertor/compiler and going to try it again.

Now for the frustrating SD WAD issue...
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
As Adeka said, GCM files are just ISO files renamed. So just rename them. If you know how to use command prompt on Windows (assuming you're on Windows), you can just do the following command (assuming they're all in the same directory at once):

Code:
ren *.gcm *.iso

and bam, you renamed them all instantly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Adeka

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    HUNTERFOX @ HUNTERFOX: I'm back