running different firmware on iTouch DS

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by dfgged, Jan 10, 2009.

Jan 10, 2009
  1. dfgged
    OP

    Member dfgged GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Hey people! I was just wondering if there was a way to run a different firmware on iTouch DS. I don't mean M3 sakura or real I mean things like:
    DSTT
    acekard
    M3 simply(not really but, what the heck)
    (not sure if possible)Games n music
    and even
    G6 real.
    So I was just wondering, but please nothing mean.
     
  2. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    No! If you wanted those firmwares, you should have bought their flashcarts!
     
  3. dfgged
    OP

    Member dfgged GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    I was just wondering if it was posible.
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    G6 and M3 real use the same firmware.
    for the rest, sure it would work if anyone would compile an nds file for it.
    tough some functions, like game booting, most likely wouldn't work.
     
  5. SeaofTea

    Newcomer SeaofTea Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean compile? Do these firmwares have sources available?
     
  6. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    It's a lot harder than just compiling an nds file for it. It takes a lot of hex editing along with other things as well.

    The only open source firmware is the AK2 firmware.
     
  7. dfgged
    OP

    Member dfgged GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Then is it possible to run Acekard 2 on iTouch?
     
  8. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    No.
     
  9. lilkerv90210

    lilkerv90210 Newbie

    can you run G6 firmware on the itouch
     
  10. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    No. The iTouch DS runs iTouch DS firmware. Nothing else. Sakura is very experimental, but the only reason that can run on it is because the M3 Real and iTouch DS are so similar. No other firmware can or will ever be able to run on the iTouch DS.
     
  11. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    You mean AK RPG.
     
  12. lilkerv90210

    lilkerv90210 Newbie

    i use the triple boot loader for the itouch that loads M3 real, M3 Sakura, and the iTouch firmware... if the M3 real card can run G6 firmware...shouldnt the iTouch be able to...?
     
  13. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    The M3 Real doesn't run G6 firmware. It runs a modified version of the G6 firmware that's made for the M3 Real. The developers made it to run that firmware. The iTouchDS wasn't made to run that firmware, therefore it doesn't. Don't expect it to anytime soon, or ever for that matter.
     

Share This Page