Run GBA on M3 Sakura?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Domo, Mar 5, 2009.

Mar 5, 2009

Run GBA on M3 Sakura? by Domo at 10:18 PM (1,770 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Domo
    OP

    Newcomer Domo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Hey folks

    I'm pretty new to this whole M3 flashcart business so I'm wondering if you can help me out. I've got myself an M3 Real with the latest bundle of Sakura firmware on it, and I'm wondering if there's any homebrew compatible with it that will run GBA games. Any help would be much appreciated!
     
  2. gaboumafou

    Member gaboumafou GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    Canada
    If you have the M3 GBA Expansion pack, you can run GBA games. But for some reason, my M3 is randomly losing my GBA saves. I may play a GBA game, save, and if I try to reload it, the save will be there. But if I try to play it the day after, then there's a chance that the save will be gone. What is causing that?!
     
  3. Domo
    OP

    Newcomer Domo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I sadly didn't buy the package set for M3 accessories and alike, just the DS flashcart itself. My original question was is there any homebrew that will run GBA games on an M3 Real with the Sakura firmware.
     
  4. gaboumafou

    Member gaboumafou GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    Canada
    Short answer: no.

    Long answer:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  5. hdofu

    Member hdofu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    realhotdeals sells the gba expansion pack by itself for 15 bucks
     
  6. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    RealHotDeals is an auto-dealer. RealHotStuff is NDS "accessories" shop. And RealHotStuff sells it for 20.50 USD a go.
     
  7. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Seems to me the battery inside the expansion pack is losing its charge which is causing data to be lost. Finding a way to charge that battery or replacing your expansion pack would be your best bet.
     
  8. mc_B3oWoLF

    Member mc_B3oWoLF GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Russian Federation
    Country:
    Russia
    You should try RTS (Real-Time Save) in GBA games)))
    RTS keeps the info stored in a file on your flash card, so you don't depend on the battery;)
     
  9. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    <!--quoteo(post=1814225:date=Mar 6 2009, 10:46 AM:name=gaboumafou)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(gaboumafou @ Mar 6 2009, 10:46 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1814225"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Short answer: no.

    Long answer:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    <!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Aww... you should've done what Yahtzee did.


    Short answer: no.

    Long answer:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  10. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    The maximum size for a GBA Save is 128Kb. The M3 Expansion has 256Kb of Save memory. The other 128Kb is used for the Real Time Save, which is dumped along with the normal save, but to a separate file. Thus, if it were the battery which were dead, Real-Time-Save would not "hold" after power-off. (GBA mode can't access DS hardware, thus the MicroSD can't be written to directly from GBA)
     
  11. mc_B3oWoLF

    Member mc_B3oWoLF GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Russian Federation
    Country:
    Russia
    Well, then I can quote thedicemaster [​IMG] (If the problem is with a battery)
     

Share This Page