Rumour: New PS3 Model To Require HDMI For HD Output?

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by coolness, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. coolness
    OP

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Source
     


  2. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Well, that sucks for newer PS3 users. At least HDMI cables are cheap if you know where to find them.
     
  3. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    There's been a correction:
    http://kotaku.com/5820952/not-so-fast-the-...for-hd-gameplay
    From Kotaku
    The "HDMI only for HD" restriction only applies to Blu-Ray Video (and download HD video), not games.
    This still sucks for some people, but it won't affect me.
     
  4. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    THANK.
    GOD.

    I mean, it doesn't affect me at the moment, but if I were to ever get a new PS3 (right now I use my brother's) and that were the case...
    Wait a minute, I don't care. When have I ever cared about HD? Plus I have an HDMI...

    Well, still sucks, though.
     
  5. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    It's still good that I have an older PS3 slim; I use it to watch my Blu-rays.

    Why would they do this anyways? Just money? ...Great.
     
  6. Hyro-Sama

    Member Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,255
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    Why is Sony releasing a new model of the PS3 anyway? Did they not learn their lesson from the PSP?
     
  7. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I hope you guys are smarter not to buy it. What a dirty business. They want to make more profits. SICKO dirty business!
     
  8. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    What lesson? The PSP was successful (maybe not in the intensity of the DS, but it was still popular) and the PSP still outsells the 3DS.

    It's probably because of their constant fight for more money.
     
  9. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    What is the point of this? I can only use component cables to have HD on my TV, as it doesn't have an HDMI port (it still supports 1080i though [​IMG] ) so I wont be able to watch videos in HD if I ever have to get a new PS3.
     
  10. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    I hope constant remodels won't happen to future Sony consoles, especially the Vita.

    I don't really like constant remodels...
     
  11. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The PS3 is a much more complicated system than the PSP, and thus, has a correspondingly higher potential for security improvements because of it. Since firmware 3.56 last January, the system has been secured (from softmods, anyway), and the introduction of a new model with a more secured blu-ray drive will only increase the headaches for hackers.

    So no, Sony didn't learn anything from the PSP security scene because they didn't have to. It's apples and oranges.
     
  12. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Since when does Component support HD?

    Anyway, K must stand for...
    I got nothing.
     
  13. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    HDMI is capable of encrypting video/audio stream. Hence Sony did this for copyright reason on Blu-ray movies.
     
  14. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,743
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1) Does any group still do the "analog loop" method of ripping?
    2) Even if they did how much legacy gear is out there (or worse old gear with known bypass methods- thinking the external decoder chip piped via a nice accessible bus into the device proper)?
     
  15. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, but before it was an option, now it's a requirement.
     
  16. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    its supports up to 1080p
     
  17. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    most tvs purchased in the last 5 years will have hdmi. hdmi cables are as cheap as $8 now. it isn't like this is a bad decision on their part. the problem will be for users who do not own hdmi read equipment or have the willingness to currently spend money in this poor global economy for an upgrade.

    i wish they would bring back the USB ports. having only 2 usb ports on my slim has been a headache. i can't charge my blue tooth, run a keyboard, charge a controller, use a cooling fan, etc, at the same time. with that said, has anyone used a usb hub or expansion with the ps3?

    -another world
     
  18. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Since always. Are you confusing it with composite?
     
  19. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you can get hdmi cables alot cheaper [​IMG]
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002L5R7...=A2X611LEQI9ZC1

    I think rock band used a USB hub, same on the 360, so it should be fine
     
  20. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    *Post editted out*

    Because I am slooow.
     

Share This Page