1. huma_dawii

    huma_dawii GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,794
    Country:
    United States
    Same here, got a Switch but nope the feeling is not the same, for some reason i feel like the Wii U is more of a "Nintendo" console than the Switch, still enjoyed some exclusives tho, we shall wait and see if we ever get PSX on our beloved Wii U
     
    ShadowOne333 and ploggy like this.
  2. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,463
    Country:
    Mexico
    The WiiU just needs someone interested enough with PPC knowledge to port any of the PSX cores.
    Be it Beetle, Duckstation, PCSX and even Mupen64 Next if we're lucky :P

    Afaik the bounty that was done years ago for a PSX dynarec was already done, but that covered x86/x64.
    If only someone who knew PPC could take a look at it :P
     
    ploggy and hug0-a7x like this.
  3. Nomado

    Nomado Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Madagascar
    I am still waiting for this fix.
     
    Maxbeta and azy77 like this.
  4. xxThe_Dice_manxx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Just got retroarch installed after trying the standalone emu's (snes9x gx Vba gx etc) and it is very impressive! Runs snes and gba games perfectly. Playing snes and gba games on the Wii U pad is great, the good old Wii U never fails to impress.

    Cant seem to get box art to show up or shaders/filters to work, also where can overlays be acquired?
     
  5. MarioSilva

    MarioSilva Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Brazil
    As far as I know retroarch uses the information from the rom header as a reference to link the boxart, it usually works fine with roms from no-intro romsets. but you still have the option to download each thumbnail manually (although it can be a tedious process to do).

    As for shaders, they need to be compiled for the wii u in order to work, you can find them quite easily if you search for retroarch wii u slang shaders on google.
     
    xxThe_Dice_manxx likes this.
  6. xxThe_Dice_manxx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Ok, got snes/nes/gba/gb/gbc/com64/amiga/atari st/megadrive/master system all working.

    All the consoles/handhelds and the com64 work absolutely perfect which is an incredible achievement for the retroarch team and the Wii U. Out of the amiga and ST the amiga seems to run better so far, still testing to see if they are worth keeping.

    Heads up for the amiga users, make sure your game files are adf as ipf wont work until the amiga core has a capsimg for wii u.

    The amiga does run and looks great in retroarch.
     
    Last edited by xxThe_Dice_manxx, Mar 19, 2021
  7. azy77

    azy77 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Try using lha files, they also work fine on wii u but don't have to worry about loading and disc swapping. Some games are also updated like midnight resistance has option to double the brightness as the original game was dark on the amiga for some reason.
     
    xxThe_Dice_manxx likes this.
  8. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Country:
    Odd bug report but when I try to open any of the Rom files from my Wii emulators on the SD card it crashes the entire system, only if I copy the Rom on the root of the SD card on a PC it seems to work, not sure why as otherwise it’s a nice alternative.

    Edit: Turns out I was using an outdated version, it now no longer crash upon loading a Roms folder but depending on how many games are installed it can take quite some time to load the games list, also compatibility is understandably varying because when I tested a MSX and a SEGA CD title they crashed on me, also I tested a couple of Arcade (MAME) titles one crashed and the other worked, so I understand it requires some more testing and work, I just don’t like how when it crashes I have to force shut the console, would be nice if there was a way to go back to the HBCL instead but I guess that maybe be not possible? ‍♂️
     
    Last edited by sonictopfan, Mar 22, 2021
  9. Mr Objection

    Mr Objection GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Argentina
    Are you using the bios for the systems that crashed?? My sega cd games crashed on retro arch wii u so I tested them on pc, and they also crashed, the problem was that they arent incorporated in retroarch because that would be like piracy, so I had to download and put them in the correct folder. No everything works just fine.
     
  10. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Country:
    That’s actually possible, the games that crashed on me upon startup were a Sega CD, a MSX, and a Konami arcade, however I managed to run GBA games without bios as well as another Konami arcade, will have to do some testing when I get the chance, thank you very much.
     
  11. ChiefReginod

    ChiefReginod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Genesis Plus GX is a little picky about Sega CD images. Whatever format you go with, it's recommended to start with Redump images. Here are your options from there, sorted by the amount of space taken:

    OGG doesn't seem to work currently. My bad.
    BIN/CUE/OGG - Convert the audio tracks to OGG with oggenc2 or some other app (don't convert from the CUE file since it skips 2 seconds at the start of each track). Delete the bin audio files from the folder, then edit the cue file to match the names of the ogg files. You'll also need to change "BINARY" at the end of each audio entry to "OGG" (it can actually be set to WAV or anything else, just not BINARY).

    Load the game from the cue file.


    CHD - Use chdman with the following command as an example (edit it accordingly):
    chdman createcd -i "Sonic CD (USA).cue" -o "Sonic CD (USA).chd"

    Load the game straight from the CHD, nothing else needed.

    BIN/CUE (untouched) - Just load it from the cue file.

    If you have ISO/MP3 don't even bother. Find the Redump BIN/CUEs.

    For arcade games you'll need to rebuild your ROMs with the DAT file for the core you're trying to use. There's no way around this. You can find the required ROM set in the info files of your retroarch folder. Just open them with a text editor.
     
    Last edited by ChiefReginod, Mar 28, 2021
  12. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Country:
    That’s the format I always use, these games all work fine on the Wii equivalent emulators I just ran into issues here so it’s possible that the bios files are missing because I never installed those on retroarch it just never occurred to me but I wonder if that would result on a crash I need to do some testing when I get some free time.
     
  13. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't seem to get any Neogeo games to work. Not sure what is going on as the roms are the very ones I use on the PC version and they load fine on there.

    Also have a similar issue with Arcade roms about 50% of them won't boot on the WiiU but the same ones once again load with no issue on PC Retroarch.
     
  14. xxThe_Dice_manxx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Use Clrmamepro to fix the roms to work with the wii u FBN.

    On another note, I have a problem with some of the FBN games being upside down on the wii U gamepad and I cannot find a way to fix it. It also causes the menu to glitch in retroarch.

    If anyone knows a fix for the games displaying upside down I'd appreciate it, apart from that the games run really well on wii u FBN which is a surprise.

    Games I have loaded are amidar/digdug/donkey k jr/galaxian/1941 all upside down but asteroids was the right way up?
     
  15. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Country:
    A bit late response but I finally got around testing it, I figured I’d share my results hoping to help somebody else.

    Basically installing the Bios files in the right section fixed the issue, I successfully ran Sega CD, PCE CD, MSX, and even FDS and MAME just fine, only game that I couldn’t run is Neo Geo (arcade) I’ll have to look into that later.

    Also to solve the problem loading Rom files for now I created a new folder on the root of the SD card and called it “1A Retroarch Roms” and I’ll be copying games I play in it via a PC, it’s not the best solution but it’ll do for now, would be nice if there was a file manager WiiU app that I could use similar to WiiXplorer but runs on WiiU mode.
     
  16. mive

    mive GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    Germany
    you have to use rotote screen option in settings (main settings not core options, dont use auto save configuration on exit). downside with this:
    shader wont work (or better say they do work but rotate the screen by 90° which you cant fix by rotate screen option)
    its all a mess
     
    xxThe_Dice_manxx likes this.
  17. xxThe_Dice_manxx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Thank you, yeah I discovered that fix but as you say it's messed up. Perhaps they will fix it? Retroarch is amazing so can't complain.
     
  18. xxThe_Dice_manxx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Oh and here is a good tut on how clrmamepro works, just search in youtube:
    [Wii U] Retroarch Arcade Emulation Setup Guide (Final Burn Neo)
     
  19. tmnr1992

    tmnr1992 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    How exactly do you get the BIN/CUE/OGG format to work? I've tried iso/ogg, which works for Retroarch on PC, but on my Wii U it does not play any of the audio tracks. Tried CHD and BIN/CUE and those work fine but it would be nice to save some space on my SD card
     
  20. ChiefReginod

    ChiefReginod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    I just did some testing and ran into the same issue. I thought I remembered it working at some point but maybe not. It seems it's been an issue for a while.
     
    depaul and tmnr1992 like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Retroarch,