resident evil 4 compatibility?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by regt123, Dec 13, 2008.

Dec 13, 2008

resident evil 4 compatibility? by regt123 at 6:31 AM (1,068 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. regt123
    OP

    Newcomer regt123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    i checked the compatibility wiki and it says it should work perfectly.
    when i get to the bridge part where you have to jump over like two parts then enter a door, my wii goes silent and then a "dvd error check disk" error appears.
    i am running wiigator's 3.0gamma with IOS249
    it is a ntsc iso and i'm using a ntsc wii
    i burnt it on a nexxtech dvd+r at 4x on imgburn
    am i just screwed or was it a bad burn?
     
  2. Warren_303

    Member Warren_303 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Westcoast
    Country:
    United States
    I've had problems with RE4 backup with my wiikey as well and all other games worked perfectly. Me and my brother had to reinsert the disc after it gave us the unable to read disk error and the game would proceed right where it left off.

    I have never heard of nexxtech media so I'm not sure that it is decent.
    Most will agree that the best success rate is with Verbatim DVD -R. That is what I have always used and they're great.

    So you can try reinserting the game when you get that error and wait a few seconds. It might restore the game right where you left off.
    I suggest buying the game as well, shit dude I always buy the games I really like just for support even though I don't have to.
     
  3. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    wow is that cheap media? [​IMG]
    try better media bud like the above said verbatim or memorex dvd-r(work great for me) or try reinserting the disk like he did.(last time i checked that works with backup loaders.)
     
  4. regt123
    OP

    Newcomer regt123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i bought these for like a couple bucks for a huge pack at circuit city, guess being cheap doesn't help xp

    guess i'll go pick up some of those cds you recommended me =]
     
  5. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My copy using pound shop DVD-R (pretty much the cheapest you can get here) works on gamma perfectly. Maybe you just burnt it wrong.

    It is a game to buy though, if I hadn't already bought the GC I would have bought the Wii one.
     
  6. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Just remember, high speeds doesn't mean a better burn.
     
  7. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it is one of the only gamesthat works perfectly for me...
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you verify your disc after burning? This is the kind of problem if would expect from a failed verification, the game loads, but the game can't read a certain sector.
     
  9. Awesome turtwig

    Member Awesome turtwig GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I played though that ENTIRE game with only one problem. But it was in the final chapters. And the game froze when you go into your inventory. But It only lasts for one part of the game (I'm avoiding spoilers). So after that part you can finish the game with your inventory.
     
  10. regt123
    OP

    Newcomer regt123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    i did verify it, i'm going to borrow one of my friend's burnt copy and see if it's just my wii that can't run it or a bad burnt
     

Share This Page