Reset Windows Speech Recognition?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Raiser, Nov 16, 2010.

Nov 16, 2010
  1. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys,

    I was curious about the Windows Speech Recognition function in Windows 7, so I ran the setup and such. When it was done, I noticed that the mic couldn't pick up my voice very well and the extra training thing ran incredibly slow.
    So I said "screw it" and closed the program.

    However, ever since then, my computer has been running noticeably slow. I checked my processes- clean, restarted my computer- no help, scanned for malware- nothing.
    Is there a way to reset the Speed Recognition as if I had never run the setup? Perhaps anything in the registry?

    Thanks
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What exactly were you looking for in the process list?
    Did you make sure to click "show processes from all users"?
     
  3. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah I did. Anything related to Windows devices of the sort. I usually know which processes I have running, so anything unfamiliar would stick out to me.

    I fixed it with a simple System Restore. I happened to have a restore point yesterday in the early AMs so it's all good.

    Thanks Rydian!
     
  4. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Raiser, your sig.. is that Bill Hicks?
     
  5. Raiser
    OP

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    I actually have no idea.
    I found it on this quotes website: http://www.boardofwisdom.com/
     
  6. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    system restore should do it [​IMG]
     
  7. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Huh.

    I was actually going to suggest a System Restore when I saw the thread the first time, but I didn't for some reason. [​IMG]

    Now I kinda wish I did. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page