Removed IOS60

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by deo, Jun 20, 2009.

Jun 20, 2009

Removed IOS60 by deo at 7:18 AM (2,332 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. deo
    OP

    Newcomer deo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello folks,

    I've bought a new wii for my brother (FW 4.0) and installed the Homebrew Channel, BootMii and Preloader on it. I already have done that in the past on my own wii, but it's a lot easier now with bannerbomb... :-)

    Then I remember that if you move some channels to the SD and try to run them from there, it won't work because it needs a patched IOS60...

    So, I installed the patched IOS60 and got a message saying that the system files were corrupted, then at this point I made a BIG mistake... instead of going to Preloader and reinstalling it, I went to WAD Manager and removed IOS60... :-/

    Of course, now his wii isn't booting anymore (black screen after power on) and looks like I can't enter into Preloader by holding the reset button anymore, because it probably also depends on IOS60...

    So here's the question: is there anything else I can do to try to recover this wii or is it permanently damaged?

    Any kind of guidance is much appreciated.

    Thanks guys!
     


  2. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Did you install BootMii first and then make a NAND dump?

    If so, insert the SD card with the NAND dump and restore your Wii back to normal.
     
  3. Ferrie

    Newcomer Ferrie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Do you have BootMii installed as IOS or as Boot2? Because if it's installed as Boot2, than you should be able to start homebrew channel and use wadmanager to reinstall ios60...
     
  4. deo
    OP

    Newcomer deo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Brazil
    @Tichinde925
    Unfortunately I didn't have made a NAND dump at that time yet. This was going to be the next step, but I messed up things with the IOS60... :-/

    @Ferrie
    It's a new wii, BootMii was installed as IOS, as it's the only way... :-/

    Any other ideas guys? I'm ready to try anything...

    Thanks again!
     
  5. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Yea. If you had a boot2 install of bootmii you may be able to do something otherwise I'm pretty sure you screwed yourself.

    I'm not too familiar with any hardware solutions though with like modchips and what not so maybe someone can shed light on your poor soul, but I do remember reading deleting IOS60 being an unrecoverable brick.
     
  6. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure you're screwed now.
     
  7. Ferrie

    Newcomer Ferrie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I agrea, you're screwed... only other thing i can think of is try the wii recovery mode (savemii or savemiifrii, google it) but i don't think that that will help.
     
  8. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    That won't work when he's missing his sys menu ios, which in this case is IOS60.
     
  9. deo
    OP

    Newcomer deo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Brazil
    Reading a little bit more about SaveMii, looks like my case fits into the 'D' branch:

    http://savemii.net/troubleshooting.html#D

    I'm on Brazil, so it will take some time to arrive here...

    Do anyone have prior experience with it? By not having the system menu, is SaveMii completely useless for my case?

    Thanks once more!
     
  10. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    It was a new Wii...with v4.0 no less. There would have been no way for him to install bootmii as boot2 anyway. No, from the sounds of it (as previous posters have already said) you are screwed. Go return it and tell them it does not turn on!
     
  11. elvis24

    Newcomer elvis24 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United States
    In your 1st post its says you installed preloader, can you not just use preloader to boot into Homebrew channel and re install the IOS you deleted. If I remember right you hold reset when you boot thw wii and preloader boots.
     
  12. deo
    OP

    Newcomer deo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Brazil
    Looks like preloader somehow depends on IOS60 to work... so no, I can't launch it holding the reset button anymore... :-(

    I really appreciate your feedback folks.
     
  13. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    another one bites the dust ... time to get that wii replaced or buy a new one.
     
  14. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    www.gbafail.net
     
  15. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it's not really gbafail.net it's the user who's the failure.
     
  16. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Erghmm.

    If you still can boot BootMii. (Or at least Run Homebrew..)
    Than just launch the Homebrew channel / Run Homebrew trough BootMii.

    And install a IOS60 WAD.
    Than reinstall Preloader 0.29.
    And you're done. [​IMG]
     
  17. EnigmaXtreme

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I dont get why installing BootMii as an IOS is even an option, how is that suppose toi brickproof ur wii?
     
  18. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @Adr990
    Have you even read the post from the top?

    @EnigmaXtreme
    That is not the intention for IOS Bootmii. It is a programming platform only.
     
  19. Scarfish

    Member Scarfish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If Preloader isn't booting you can't fix this Wii, period.
     
  20. deo
    OP

    Newcomer deo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello folks,

    just an update on this... I went back to USA in the end of November with my bricked Wii and decided to send it back to Nintendo for repair...

    The whole process was really easy... I just had to follow the steps presented in Nintendo site. I sent it on a Monday and received it back on Thursday of the next week! :-)

    And just to confirm what bushing suspected, once System Menu is corrupted (or on my case, removed!) Nintendo seems to NOT be able to identify that the Wii was softmodded... as they didn't charged me a single dollar (Nintendo even paid for the shipping)!

    Wonderful, huh? I just had to wait for six months! At least it arrived in time, as this was a gift for my brother... well, now it's a Xmas gift, as I'm back to Brazil again... ;-)

    Happy holidays to everyone!

    --deo
     

Share This Page