Remote Restart Wii when Crashed.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by synicasm, Feb 27, 2010.

Feb 27, 2010
  1. synicasm
    OP

    Newcomer synicasm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Im so lazy... I wish there was a remote restart for Wii so that when something crashes and locks up I dont have to get my fat butt off the couch and hold the power button in to restart the Wii.


    Thinking of getting a remote wall power outlet !


    What say you ?


    LOL
     
  2. Tagg7

    Member Tagg7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    Um... if it crashes then clearly you can't program anything to remote restart it.

    Is this a joke post? I'm sure you realize you'll get flamed for being lazy.
     
  3. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    If you get a code dump screen, Im pretty sure you can press the B button on a gamecube controller, or some button on it that would cause the Wii to restart.
     
  4. synicasm
    OP

    Newcomer synicasm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm didnt try that Will have to fish out a gamecube controller.. Thanks!
     
  5. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
  6. synicasm
    OP

    Newcomer synicasm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Yep That was what I was considering [​IMG]
     
  7. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i looked into this a while ago, and the answer i got from tantric is that quite simply, the code running on the wii has crashed and cannot be trusted to do what you want it to do. if you add wiimote support for the code dump screen, odds are, it wont work right.

    i even created a thread on wiibrew called "my code dump had a code dump". because that's what happened. the state of the program was so unstable after the first code dump, that calling the simple command to read a wiimote during a code dump made it have another code dump.
     
  8. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    and therefor you need a remote reset presser


    or just have the wii next to you


    ALL HAIL DESKS
     

Share This Page