Random System Lockups

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Hakoda, Jun 24, 2011.

Jun 24, 2011

Random System Lockups by Hakoda at 7:36 PM (399 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Hakoda
    OP

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    So my dad's computer has started to get random system lock ups after about 5 minutes after the desktop is finished loading all startup items. He's running Windows 7 Ultimate x64 with Kaspersky PURE.

    The lockup isn't a BSOD so no memory dump was initiated. Basically everything freezes and nothing is able to be done other than hitting restart button. All graphics on the screen freeze, the mouse and keyboard don't respond however their lights are still on. The "busy" light on the desktop is still and doesn't blink at an unusual rate. The normal boot sessions are getting minor kernel errors though.

    I can boot into Safe Mode and Safe Mode with Networking just fine. Looking at the Event Viewer, we see a bunch of Error ID 7009 and 10005. However these errors are coming from the Safe Mode session, not the normal boot sessions.

    The system is currently running a disk check. After that I'll make sure all drivers are up to date, swap out my video card with his (no integrated graphics on his), and go down to 2GB RAM instead of 6GB. Run a Memtest too. Last resort is reinstalling Windows.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Qu├ębec
    Country:
    Canada
  3. Hakoda
    OP

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    System seems to be functioning fine after a chkdsk.
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the lockup is persistent, try loading up the resource manager when you can and see if it shows any unusual activity just prior to lockup (e.g. High CPU or RAM usage).
     
  5. Hakoda
    OP

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Will do. I'm still a little skeptical. I'll probably run a memtest on all slots and sticks.
     

Share This Page