RAM problem diagnosis

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Lanlan, Jul 6, 2012.

Jul 6, 2012

RAM problem diagnosis by Lanlan at 7:09 PM (596 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Lanlan
    OP

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    So the 2 2gb rams i ordered for my laptop came in today, so i pop em in and turn on my puter and i get nothing. No beeps or anything. Just a blank screen. When I take all ram out i get 2 beeps, so i know it's at least detecting something. Anyone know what could be wrong? I tried all possible combinations of the new ram with my old ram, even cleaned the contacts.
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,787
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Question, did the old RAM work and was that why you got more? And is your laptop capable of 4GB of RAM?

    EDIT: He bought the RAM from me btw, and I tested it before sending it so I know it works.
     
  3. Lanlan
    OP

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    Old RAM worked fine, still does. And according to multiple sources (Crucial's scan thingy, Dell's website, and various forums) my laptop supports up to 4 gigs of soDIMM DDR-2 pc2-6400 RAM.

    And yes, I bought it from him. I'm not blaming him in any way, nor am i asking for a refund. It may have been damaged during shipping, who knows? I just wanna see if anyone has any ideas.
     
  4. Lanlan
    OP

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    And to clarify,
    new ram = no POST, no beeps, no video, but the cpu fan turns on.
    No ram = no video, beep code, two beeps repeating, which according to wikipedia means there is no memory installed.
    old ram = normal operation
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried only one stick of RAM? Do that with each DIMM you have, in each slot, one at a time. That can help determine if one of the slots are faulty or if it's the RAM itself.
     
  6. Jasper07

    Member Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Parallel universe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What are the specs of the new RAM?
     
  7. Lanlan
    OP

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    Same as the old other than twice the capacity. 200 pin soDIMM ddr-2 pc2-6400.
    and I've tried different slots.
     
  8. Jasper07

    Member Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Parallel universe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hmm and what laptop do you have?
    Also, in what configuration is the 4GB ram? 2x2GB? or 1x4? scratch that, you already said it's 2x2...
    Have you already tried other ram of 2GB in your laptop?
     

Share This Page