R4ds Question

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by SpeedBump, Aug 23, 2009.

Aug 23, 2009

R4ds Question by SpeedBump at 12:11 AM (849 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. SpeedBump
    OP

    Newcomer SpeedBump Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I got my new R4 in the mail today, but I can't get it to work. Whenever I plug it into my DS, with or without the sd card(which has the files on it) it just goes to a black screen with white text that says LOADING...

    How can I fix this.
     
  2. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    format SD card and then try again

    for future reference, get something else, other than R4
     
  3. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like the wrong firmware. There are two million different type of fake R4 and they all use different firmwares. Make sure you get the right one.
     
  4. SpeedBump
    OP

    Newcomer SpeedBump Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    How do I know which firmware to get?

    And the back of the box says something about 4g, 8g, and 32g SD cards. I'm using a 2g, could that be a problem?

    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.19234 This is the one I bought if that makes a difference.
     
  5. andy249901

    Member andy249901 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Hillsburrito
    Country:
    United States
    go to the website in the product description to get the firmware... if it still doesnt work then what i do with my original r4 when it does that is blow lightly into the sd slot without the sd inside...
     
  6. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lots of various R4 firmwares here - http://www.linfoxdomain.com/nintendo/ds/

    Try to match the firmware to whichever type of R4 yours claims to be. Failing that try them all, one at a time, until you find one that works.
     
  7. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    A good start would be to read the box it came in, as this should tell you where to d/l the correct firmware. Failing that, advise us the "name" of the flashcart - R4SDHC, for example (given the box bangs on about 4,8,32gb sd cards, it prob suggests it's not an R4DS).
    99% of people would advise you not to buy any flashcart with "R4" in it's name these days (and rightfully so [​IMG]), but what's done is done. You will get it working once you advise all of the details on here.
     
  8. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    look at the card
    there should be a website on the sticker
    go to that website and download the firmware and put it in
    before u do that download panasonic sd card formatter and format ur msd then put the firmware in and see if it works
    if not then im not sure wats wrong
     
  9. RTAgent5

    Newcomer RTAgent5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Country:
    United States
    Just go here.

    Download the newest firmware and unzip the contents to you MicroSd card and it all should work. If not contact dealextreme for an RMA to get you money back and buy something else.
     

Share This Page