R4 DS on DSLite Error Message

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by vyen, Aug 24, 2009.

Aug 24, 2009

R4 DS on DSLite Error Message by vyen at 8:10 PM (1,785 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. vyen
    OP

    Newcomer vyen Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    /groaaaannn I can't figure this one out. I googled the error message I get "R4 Create System File Error" and the first two results were to Reinstall the Firmware (which is what gave me this message) and "Silly Boys Trucks R4 Girls!" (no joke >.>).

    Here's what happened. I've been using the YSMenu for a while (I think). I found an auto-installer for it, and it worked perfectly except for one thing -- I couldn't run DS a few specific games under it (mostly ones published by SE). Dunno why, just wouldn't work. I wanted to finish off Chrono Trigger finally, so I go back and re-rename some of the old system files. I got it to boot back up into the 'original' firmware that comes with the R4DS.

    But I still wanted to dual-boot into YSMenu when I needed it -- it avoids ARM7 patching, meaning I can plan local-connect games through it. So I re-downloaded a NEW YSMenu auto-installer, put the new files on there...and it all worked! Yay! But I knew I had duplicate system files all over the place eating up my flash card space (TTMenu and YSMenu and _system_ and _old_system_)...so I cleared off all the system-related and moonshell files, and put fresh copies of the R4 Firmware, the YSMenu dual-boot .NDS, Moonshell, and Moonshell 2.

    Now I get this error message:


    Error
    Create system file failure
    Storage space inadequate

    I have almost 15MB open on the card. Any idea what I did wrong? >.> Maybe it, for some reason, can't create some sort of usr_settings_.ini file, which I'd just put on there myself, but I dunno where it'd go or what to call it. Is the newest copy of the firmware on the R4 site borked? Did I brick my card somehow? Any help would be appreciated. I shoulda just left well enough alone, but I wanted that extra 3MB back >.>;


    Edit: I checked that the files/folders were read-only. They weren't, though some were Archived. Un-archiving didn't help either. I tried making the YSMenu be the auto-boot/default/whatever, and now that just gets stuck at 'Loading...' I saw somewhere there was some fix for that, so maybe I need to go check that out?

    Edit 2: Clicking around turned up some info on -cloned- R4 cards? Good gravy...I'm almost sure I've got an 'actual' R4 card, but if it helps, i've been using the Firmware updates from: http://www.r4ds.com/index-en.htm since I got this card, and those firmware updates have always worked fine. Seems I'm getting ab it of a different error message, but any info helps.
     
  2. jwcgator

    Member jwcgator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    I would just make a backup of the card and reformat it.
     
  3. Fatboy12345236

    Member Fatboy12345236 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Australia
    *pretends to be an admin* XD
    Try reformatting your card with the Panasonic Formater it tends to work better insure that you format your card to FAT32

    Few, Now I can stop pretending to be a mod! [​IMG]
     
  4. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    This error means your R4 cannot compile a temporary system file which is required for the R4 to run properly. I'm not sure how much space it needs but it is usually recommended to do a first run on an empty card, or at least keep a lot of free space, definitely more than 15MB.
     
  5. pootio

    Newcomer pootio Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I am getting the same error message after installing the ysmenu0903270000 update.
    It only happens on games like the new Pokemon HG/SS games, and the 101 in 1 explosive game pack.
    It seems as though the savelib.dat or something cannot handle the EEPROM size or something.

    Anyone have a clue how to update the compatibility for a bigger save type?
     
  6. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    R4 ISN'T the best, you know...lol
     

Share This Page