Homebrew RELEASE QuickNTP - Sync time using Tesla

nedex

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Italy
QuickNTP
Sync the Switch's time using the provided NTP servers, within Tesla.

I developed this app mainly for practicing with C++, development containers and the libnx library.

Preview
78499263-e9fcc500-774f-11ea-9392-60bd19d21ad8.jpg

Links
Source: https://github.com/nedex/QuickNTP
Releases and download: https://github.com/nedex/QuickNTP/releases

Any suggestions and help would be appreciated!
 
Last edited by nedex,

nedex

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Italy
can I change the time manually in the overlay? if not this would be a request! otherwise nice work

I don't know if it would be better to create a separate "plugin" or to make a panel to manipulate the date.
What is your use case? And the operation you would do the most?

Thanks anyways!
 

nedex

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Italy
  • Like
Reactions: deusversus

deusversus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 8, 2018
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
74
Country
United States
Ah, thank worked. I had sync time disabled, once I re-enabled it, the time synced just fine.

Thanks for the help, and the great app. :)
 

enderer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
352
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
1,095
Country
United States
does this tool change the RTC?
what i'm looking for, from this app, is to change my RTC back to its stock offset then the Horizon date and time to the correct (so i can use the internet browser in Horizon)
the reasoning behind this is because when i boot into linux, my RTC is change to correct, and it's kind of a pain to reset it manually.
is this possible with this program?
 

nedex

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Italy
Ah, thank worked. I had sync time disabled, once I re-enabled it, the time synced just fine.

Thanks for the help, and the great app. :)

You're welcome, let me know if you have suggestions!

does this tool change the RTC?
what i'm looking for, from this app, is to change my RTC back to its stock offset then the Horizon date and time to the correct (so i can use the internet browser in Horizon)
the reasoning behind this is because when i boot into linux, my RTC is change to correct, and it's kind of a pain to reset it manually.
is this possible with this program?

I'm not sure about this, and I can't personally make tests since I don't have a working linux environment.

By the way, in the libnx library there are some references to the internal clock / offset, but it doesn't seem to have functions to modify it
https://github.com/switchbrew/libnx/blob/master/nx/include/switch/services/time.h

How do you "manually reset" the RTC?
 

enderer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
352
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
1,095
Country
United States
(in horizon)
1. i turn off automatic time sync in date and time settings
2. i make a mental note of the offset from current time (usually around 19 years off)
(in linux)
3. i set the date minus the offset

this is the only way to get my RTC back to stock offset so my internet browser works in horizon

EDIT: when i say 'linux' i mean L4T-Ubuntu. linux running on the switch.
 
Last edited by enderer,

nedex

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Italy
(in horizon)
1. i turn off automatic time sync in date and time settings
2. i make a mental note of the offset from current time (usually around 19 years off)
(in linux)
3. i set the date minus the offset

this is the only way to get my RTC back to stock offset so my internet browser works in horizon

EDIT: when i say 'linux' i mean L4T-Ubuntu. linux running on the switch.

Sorry for the delay.
At the current status of libnx it seems it's not possible to sync time for linux with the RTC in mind.
Basically it would be simpler to update the linux kernel to make it work properly, which i'm not really expert in..

If you have some other ideas as workarounds, let me know!
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Recovering lost partitions sucks ass
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Attempting to recover a 2tb worth of movies and this 320 weirdly won't initialize
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    huraay for keeping backups
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    huraay for that backup drive being the issue back up a back up of a
    back ups :teach:
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only you could encode the backup in your DNA and carry it with you
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    And I'm here stuck with my 3800X (though I need to plan if I want to upgrade to a 5900X) and an RX 5700 (XT BIOS).
  • p1ngpong @ p1ngpong:
    DEAD
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ALIVE
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: ALIVE