Questions about playing wads from SD

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by joshwill80, Jun 9, 2009.

Jun 9, 2009
  1. joshwill80
    OP

Newcomer joshwill80 Advanced Member

United States
    Hello all,

I'm new to Wii hacking, and I've got most of it figured out, but I'm having trouble understanding how playing wads from the SD card works. Some background info:

-New Wii with system menu 4.0. Using 4.0 so that I can play WiiWare/VC games from the SD card, instead of the Wii's onboard memory (my collection is over 512 mb)
    -Running a D2Pro modchip in the system

What's the process for playing wads from the SD card if you have system menu 4.0 and a modchip installed? From what I understand you have to install the wads temporarily onto the Wii's onboard memory first (using Wad Manager, launched through the HBC), then install them back onto your SD card, then you can delete them off you Wii's onboard memory. When you run them through your SD card, the Wii temporarily places the game you want to play in the Wi''s memory, it does not actually run off of the SD card. Do I have all that right?

What I'm wondering is if there is a simpler way to just play the wads directly off of the SD card in the first place. Maybe since I'm using a modchip? Or maybe there is some kind of hack that will let you play wads directly off of a SD card?

2. FenrirWolf

Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

United States
    You've got the idea right. You install a wad and then you move it to the SD card (no need to copy and delete, just move) and it appears in the SD Menu. That's the only way for it to work right now and it's really not that much of a hassle.

You have to install a trucha-patched IOS60 for them to work, but that's a simple google search away.

3. joshwill80
    OP

United States
    Thanks for the reply. Is the HBC and Wad Manager still needed? And what exactly is the patched IOS60, a hacked system menu 4.0?

4. ineedhelpbad

Newcomer ineedhelpbad Advanced Member