Question about SvSip

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by iambananaballsso, Feb 2, 2010.

Feb 2, 2010

Question about SvSip by iambananaballsso at 2:29 AM (1,086 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. iambananaballsso
    OP

    Newcomer iambananaballsso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    i noticed that when i call from this homebrew, that a number comes on the other phones caller id
    and i use voip buster

    but what happens if the person calls back on that number?

    so for sure no one will pick, up because a ds cant recieve calls

    and theres no way to trace the call back

    so like if i call people for a prank for example, and i didnt want to be caught, then theres no way for me to be discovered, because no one will suspect one to make a call from a ds.... so is this plan safe?


    also the calling works but there is no sound, either poeple can hear from either end, i hope that is resolved in a future release.
     
  2. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    The thing with svsip is that it uses wifi and communicates with your router/s. There are applications such as wireshark (or something) that can listen to your internet connection. Most routers should have firewalls though. So watch your router in case a hacker breaks a window and connects his LAN cable into your router.
     
  3. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Setting aside fgghjjkll's humorous response for a moment.

    I'm seeing alot of people with SvSIP and VoIP Buster having that problem, have you tried any other VoIP providers?
     
  4. iambananaballsso
    OP

    Newcomer iambananaballsso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    i signed up at voipbuster

    what ather providers r u talking about, and how do i change it to one that works
    EDIT: i saw the site with other providers, and i saw other providers, so to check if it works i just change the settings on the config file?, but keep the username/password the same?, or do i have to make a new account if i change the provider?

    also

    can u explain more about what if the person calls back on the number, wont it just go to a dead number, or something?

    also i have another unrelated matter to ask

    at school there is a wifi, where i cam trying to connect to use beup live and bunjaloo

    i do a scan with airscan and svsip, and the strongest one is about 40-75% , then after i type in all the numbers (ip, subnet, dns, gateway, router password)
    and it says connected, but when it trying to connect with bunjaloo it doesnt work, also for beup live it just hangs at doing handshake, no matter how many times i do that it gets stuck there

    also when i try to connect SvSip, it takes a while at the acquiring dhcp, but finally it connects, much slower than at home.

    is this because the signal is weak or too many other people are using it?
     
  5. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    libwifi has a speed restriction. You cannot go further than 20kbps on a DS. DSLinux has a modified version of libwifi so speeds can reach up to 100kbps.
     
  6. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Again that depends on your VoIP provider, check their FAQs.
     

Share This Page