Question about resetting a Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dottor_male, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. dottor_male
    OP

    dottor_male GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    181
    0
    Oct 30, 2008
    Italy
    I have a question:

    Suppose that I wanted to reset my Wii after an upgrade to 3.4 / installing cIOS 249 / installing a lot of channel (like dvdx) etc.

    The quickest way should be saving all my save files on the SD and formatting the wii (and so resetting it to the original firmware, like 2.0 or whatever), and the using a game that as the 3.2 firmware update on it, right? This way I should have a clean 3.2E/U Wii.

    Then I will redownload my VC titles and do what I want, like reinstalling the HBC etc.

    It's that correct?
     
  2. Helsionium

    Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Member
    351
    12
    Jul 18, 2008
    Australia
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Formatting the Wii does not change the version of the System Menu. You will be stuck with whatever version you have now.
     
  3. dottor_male
    OP

    dottor_male GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    181
    0
    Oct 30, 2008
    Italy
    But it will delete everything else? Like cIOS etc.?
     
  4. zerof

    zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    602
    0
    Nov 5, 2008
    United States
    Like Helsionium said, this will not work. This will get rid of home brew completely and you will have to wait until someone comes up with a fix because you will not be able to use the zelda hack once upgraded.

    I suggest you search for cIOS downgrader by waninkoko and then uninstall things through wad manager/format if you want.
     
  5. Helsionium

    Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Member
    351
    12
    Jul 18, 2008
    Australia
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Honestly, I don't know.
    I guess it will delete all non-system channels and save data, but not the installed IOSes. Just a guess, though.
     
  6. dottor_male
    OP

    dottor_male GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    181
    0
    Oct 30, 2008
    Italy
    I'm on 3.2E, so it's not a problem.

    I just wanted to know how to get rid of everything in case I needed it, and if it was possible to revert future updates.


    Thanks Helsionium and zerof, I will not update to 3.4 (at least, not now!).