Question about emulators with DVD support

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by misticknight, Aug 27, 2008.

Aug 27, 2008
  1. misticknight
    OP

    Member misticknight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    Australia
    i just downloaded like 4 emulators today from dcemu.com for wii with DVD support, i was just wondering if you need a DVD for each emulator or i can put a huge collection of roms onto one dvd and use it for each emulator. it'd sure help with freeing space on my SD card it's almost full.
     
  2. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    You would need to read any README files that might be included with the emulator. I am guessing that the files would need to be placed in the same manner as an SD card, so you should be able to place ROMs for different systems on it with no problem. Also, I'm not sure if any public emulators currently use the DVD Access library, so your Wii would need to be modified with a drive chip.
     
  3. misticknight
    OP

    Member misticknight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    Australia
    nah these ones don't check em out on dcemu.co.uk it's pretty sweet. from what iv'e seen though they just explain how to do it on there emu they dont talk about others, i'll just test it out and see what happens.
     
  4. Treflex

    Member Treflex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, could you link me to these emulators w/ dvd support? And do they require custom ios?
     
  5. misticknight
    OP

    Member misticknight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    Australia
    http://wii-news.dcemu.co.uk/

    just scroll down you'll see 4 in a row (Gnuboy, Hugo, SMS and Genesis Plus). and from what i understand you dont need custom IOS, but then again i'm the one asking the questions here lol so i could be wrong. either way it definatly doesn't require a modchip, i think it's like that Mplayer thingie that was released last week you dont need a modchip to view burnt discs on that either. i know people are against the idea but i hope this means ISO loader soon, i'll buy the games i really want of course but for the ones i dont really care about (like WWE or that One Piece game i want but i dont wanna spend money on)i'll download instead. hey man i'm on benefits it's good enough i've bought the games that i have already.
     
  6. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Those new updated emulators with DVD support require you to install DVDX, that's the hidden channel that enabled DVD-access. If you do have a modchip however, a custom IOS is most likely required in addition to DVDX. Just run the patchmii and it will take of it.
     
  7. Christen

    Member Christen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Canada
    Man, I can't wait for an NES or an SNES emu with DVD support. That'll be sweet.
     
  8. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    do they support dvd+r
     
  9. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, sorry, I guess that I missed some of the new releases. Looks like some nice changes have been added into many of the emulators. Regarding the DVD, I'm guessing that it is the same setup as the SD card, which I believe is 'genplus\roms'. If that is how it is setup, I'm guessing that the rest are the same, because they were all released by Eke-Eke.
     
  10. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    on a side topic: can libdi let you read backups?
     
  11. Christen

    Member Christen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Canada
    Someone has to code the backup loader first...
     

Share This Page