Ps2 and HDD over 127 GB?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Gagarin, Mar 4, 2009.

Mar 4, 2009

Ps2 and HDD over 127 GB? by Gagarin at 3:26 AM (6,382 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any way to avoid 127 GB hd limit?
    It would be nice to have 400 GB [​IMG]
    ANy ideas?
     


  2. beedog19

    Member beedog19 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    Sunny Southern California
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assuming that you're using HDLoader and an old style PS2. Don't quote me on this since it's been about 5 years since I modded my PS2, but I think that the most recent versions of HDLoader, at least the ones that you boot from a memory card, allow for larger HDs. I know that it is possible since I have a 250 gig HD mine at the moment. [​IMG]
     
  3. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    (a) Format the HDD with Winhiip's 48bit option (you've done a 28bit format which imposes that limit)
    (b) Ensure you're using a 48bit patched HDL.
     
  4. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using newest HDL and old ps2.
    So do you know any best 300 - 400 gb that would work with NA for sure?
     
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If your HDD is working then it's compatible...the format is just the issue! Reformat it with a 48bit Winhiip format, ensure you have a 48bit patched HDL (not a 28bit patched version) and it'll work. If it wasn''t compatible not being able to use anything over 127Gb would be the least of your problems!

    This lists compatible HDD's.

    (...and god i hate your Avatar!)
     
  6. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Thanx xist for the list. It's kind of out dated a little. That's where I read about 127 GB limit.
    So any 400 GB ATA would be suitable?

    Changed my avatar [​IMG]
     
  7. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The thing is that IDE drives are kind of outdated now! The reason i'd always advise against that size drive you want is because unless you're modding your console to add extra ventilation, the HDD is going to heat up big time in the tiny little enclosure within your PS2. Plus there's always the game limit of 256 images that HDL imposes, so you may not be able to even use all that space anyway. Personally i'd advise around the 200Gb mark to give you a good size drive able to resist it's usage in an odd location.

    Why the need for such a massive HDD?
     
  8. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm? Bigger hard drives aren't necessarily hotter, it varies from drive model to drive model. My 1TB SATA hard drives run waaaay cooler than my old 300GB PATA drive. It's even cooler to the touch than the ~4.2GB drive I have in my old Win98 machine.
     
  9. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly...you're not comparing like with like as SATA drives are much newer, and it also depends on drive speed (5400 vs 7200)...As someone who's had a HDD in a PS2 since 2005 i'd advise against a 400gb mostly because it's pointlessly large.
     
  10. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    if you can get it cheep go for it the more space the better. just check the link to see if its a working drive.
    I have a 120gig on mine and holds about 35 games so you should not come close to the limit even with a 400 gig drive.
     
  11. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. So lets say 250GB should be fine, I have about 55 games.
    Now give me the models name so it will work for sure with NA and won't overheating.
     
  12. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just pick a Seagate or Maxtor from the list....Western Digitals are a no go though without modifying the NA.
     
  13. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    I'd have to agree with the pointlessly large part, given that you'd have to have every one of your games be greater than 4GB to get any real use out of it. At this point in time, though, there's probably little difference in the cost of a 200GB PATA drive and 500GB anyways.

    I was trying to use the hard drive situation as an extreme example. I'll restate my point clearer.

    Given two hard drives with the same rotation speed, number of platters, number of r/w heads, cache size, and similar technology in the same application (i.e. the only real difference being platter density): the drive with lower platter density will tend to run hotter, as it has to do more work for any given task than the drive with the higher platter density.
     
  14. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You win on that point.... [​IMG]

    But generally in a tiny PS2 HDD compartment, and with HDL's limitations, unless you're intent on putting loads of video files on it and using SMS, i wouldn't obsess about getting the largest HDD possible. You could always connect up a USB powered fan though to keep things a bit cooler, or even do some crasy case modding.
     
  15. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,179
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I wish I had a 400GB hdd in my PS2
    ive had to delete tons of stuff from time to time to make room for more games on my 120GB [​IMG]
     
  16. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. So I got Maxtor 250 GB Works great!. However I can not install in HDLoader some of the games (doesn't recognize the disc).
    But when I'm using WinHiip it supports only 123 GB (1.7.6). So what to do to add ISOS into that big HDD?
    As I said, installing in HDL is off the table. Any other ways?
     
  17. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    WinHIIP DOES support drives over 123GB. Go to the options and set the application mode to 48bit HDLoader, that should solve your problem.
     
  18. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yep! I works now [​IMG]
    However I have new questions:

    Hdd is fast but full of games is really slow (?) is there any way to defragment it, sort it to spped it up a little? I mean, right now I have about 70 games and loading of HDL taks almost a minute.

    Is there any way to put homebrew games on HDL. I got Flashback iso but it doesn't take it from WinHiip:(
     
  19. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Your drive is fragmented already? If you just wrote a bunch of games to it when it was blank then it shouldn't be fragmented at all. Fragmentation occurs when you delete games and add new ones. If you have a lot of games then it will just take a while to load up. The first time you boot up after you change your games it will take a while, but after that it shouldn't take too long. I have 85 games in my 300GB (Maxtor 7L300R0) drive and it takes about 20 seconds to start up.

    Not sure about homebrew though. I use my xbox for my console homebrew needs.
     
  20. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you using a 48bit patched HDL0.8c? Oh and fragmentation wouldn't have those effects since the PS2 doesn't have issues with it the way you're imagining....you'll run into problems with installs of DVD9 games but not with the initial boot.
     

Share This Page