Preloader option

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MasterNES, Apr 8, 2009.

Apr 8, 2009

Preloader option by MasterNES at 8:54 AM (937 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. MasterNES
    OP

    Newcomer MasterNES Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hello all,

    I've recently gone through the process of updating my Wii system menu to v4.0. So far, everything seems to be working pretty well. One question that I have: what does "Disc auto start when right pressed" do? This is one of the options given at WiiBrew.org for the hack.ini file. By the name, it sounds like it'll start the disc when pushing right on the GC or Wiimote or something, but I can't seem to get it to work. Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  2. MasterNES
    OP

    Newcomer MasterNES Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone?

    P.S. Wow this forum is popular...that got buried in no time [​IMG]
     
  3. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Try using "Right" on the 4th GC-Pad.
     
  4. MasterNES
    OP

    Newcomer MasterNES Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    The fourth? Interesting...I wonder what the logic behind that was rather than the first?

    Anyway, I'm assuming the use for this is to launch GC games without needing the Wiimote, correct?

    I'll give this a go once I get back tonight. Thanks.
     
  5. drmarvin

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I haven't figured this one out either. As far as I can tell, it's not the WiiMote. Doesn't do anything for me, but it could be a nice feature. If it's the GC controller, it's really only good for rescue of some sort.

    Let us all know if you can figure it out.
     
  6. sess

    Member sess GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Sao Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yep, just tested it here. 4th port GC controller, pressed right, shows my version (4.0U) and autostarts the disc.

    That other option, Disc autostart, does the same, but you don't need a GC controller. Just turn it on and it's fine. lol
     
  7. drmarvin

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    For just "Disc Autostart", your game will just start if it's in the console? GC or Wii? I have tried a Wii game, and it doesn't seem to do anything. Do you need the GC controller in the 4th port?
     
  8. sess

    Member sess GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Sao Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yep. Wii. All you need to do is just turn on the Wii. It isn't region free, though.
     
  9. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    So basically its the same option as the starfall option in 3.2? So that if you have IOSs capable of runing backups you could pop in a disc with wad manager?
     
  10. sess

    Member sess GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Sao Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    Not sure about that (WAD Manager autoboot disc), but you can play backups, even if you're softmoded. But like I said, at least for me, japanese and euro backups didn't work.
     

Share This Page