1. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    Got a laptop (MSI GP72-2QE Leopard Pro) back in November that I plan to put some upgrades into:

    OS: Windows 10 Pro and Ubuntu 14.10 LTS (I plan to update to the next LTS in April when it releases)
    CPU: Intel Core i7-5700HQ Quad-Core @ 2.70GHz
    RAM: 16GB DDR3 (One is Kingston, the other is stock to the laptop, but both are identical)
    GPU: NVIDIA GTX950M with 2GB DDR5 memory
    Motherboard: Micro-Star International Co. Ltd. MS-1793
    Storage: Hitatchi 1TB HDD @ 7200RPM (I plan to update this to an SSD down the road)

    I hope to, as mentioned, upgrade the storage to an SSD once their prices go down, and I also wish to install an M.2 SSD after I found an open SATA port on my motherboard when I was installing that Kingston RAM about a month ago. I also want to replace the DVD drive with a BluRay drive as well, and make this laptop an investment. I use it for pretty much all my work, as well as school work. If I'm going to be using it that much, I'm going to get as much out of it as I can.
     
  2. Devin

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,942
    Country:
    United States
    Minecraft with high shader packs.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  3. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    Protip: If you have Linux installed, Minecraft runs like, two times better. On Windows without shaders above ground, I'm pulling about 100FPS when on a server. On Linux, on the same server, under the same conditions, I'm hitting 250FPS (According to F3 debug stats). I'm also running with shaders and I'm hitting about 45-60 FPS with high shaders.

    Edit: Default window size with optifine while as low as I can go:
    [​IMG]
    Windows could never match that.
     
    Last edited by loco365, Feb 7, 2016
    CIAwesome526 and TotalInsanity4 like this.
  4. ilman

    ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,128
    Country:
    [​IMG]

    I have no idea why my SSD is running so hot. 0.o
     
  5. GreatCrippler

    GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Country:
    United States
    I really need to think about a new build.

    [​IMG]

    Ok, I can't seem to see any images i upload any longer. >.<

    i7 975 Extreme
    24 GB DDR 3
    160 GB SSD (2 x 80 GB Intel Raid 0)
    2 TB
    Nvidia 680GTX
     
    Last edited by GreatCrippler, Feb 7, 2016
  6. Luglige

    Luglige hiatus
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,414
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww a Mac! (Commits Suicide Over Disgust)
    But hey mines worse :P
     
    Last edited by Luglige, Feb 7, 2016
  7. CIAwesome526

    CIAwesome526 Im ugly and im proud
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,242
    Country:
    United States
    now you just need a monitor and graphics card capable of a refresh rate that high :wacko:
     
  8. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    Step 1: Have $5000 or something insane like that.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  9. CIAwesome526

    CIAwesome526 Im ugly and im proud
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,242
    Country:
    United States
    well... with a graphics card capable of 1,506 FPS, it would probably be so powerful as to boost it higher, meaning you need a better graphics card, which means higher framerate... and so on until you hit the speed electricity travels at or something like that.
     
  10. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    10,811
    Country:
    United States
  11. CIAwesome526

    CIAwesome526 Im ugly and im proud
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,242
    Country:
    United States
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  12. StriderVM

    StriderVM GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    It's old but I'm not really planning to spend more for the computer so.....

    My Current Desktop :
    - Asus H81M-D Motherboard
    - Pentium G3258 OC'd @ 4.3Ghz
    - nVidia GeForce GTX 560
    - 8GB DDR3 RAM
    - 4 hard drives totalling 3TB
    - Windows 7 64-Bit

    My Current Laptop (Bought it for $30 off someone.) Acer Brand :
    - Core 2 Duo T2250
    - Intel 945GM
    - 3GB DDR2 RAM
    - 80GB IDE Hard Drive
    - Windows 7 32-Bit
     
  13. CIAwesome526

    CIAwesome526 Im ugly and im proud
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,242
    Country:
    United States
    4 hard drives? you can get 1 6TB drive for $150-$200
     
    Last edited by CIAwesome526, Feb 8, 2016
  14. kennybrace

    kennybrace Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    Intel Core i5 6500
    16.0 GB DDR4
    MSI H170A PC Mate
    MSI R9 270 2GB
    Windows 10 Pro
    120GB Hyper X SSD
    and 2 hard drives for a total of 5 TB
    Displayed on 2 old Dell monitors that I need to upgrade
     
  15. StriderVM

    StriderVM GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Well, a 4TB HD here costs aout $200. I wish it were cheaper in this country. :(

    Each of those are drives I bought for like $10 ot $20 each.
     
    TotalInsanity4 and CIAwesome526 like this.
  16. FireEmblemGuy

    FireEmblemGuy Celebrating a decade of shitposting
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,463
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I added close to a TB of storage just using some old notebook drives and a dual-hotswap bay I got from TigerDirect's clearance sale. They're a bit slower, but mostly they're just used for things where speed doesn't make a notable difference - music, older games, ROM collections, porn, etc.
     
  17. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,707
    Country:
    [​IMG]

    Omitted from Speccy's search are:
    PSU: Corsair 750i
    Case: Corsair Graphite 760T Arctic White
    Cooler: Corsair H110
    Keyboard: Logitech G15
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 2013

    This is just my PC. My brother also has a high end PC, albeit a much older one (with Sandy Bridge).
     
  18. Margen67

    Margen67 Dirty entited pirate
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,100
    Country:
    United States
    >Intel HD Graphics
    *barfs*
     
    TheKawaiiDesu likes this.
  19. TheKawaiiDesu

    TheKawaiiDesu Ball of Kawaiiness
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Korea, North
    I know, even Dream Pinball 3D lags because of that :sad:
    (but STRUYA runs fine thx 2 le wow optimzation)
     
  20. cherryduck

    cherryduck GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    i5 6600K CPU OC'ed @ 4.7GHz
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger Motherboard
    Kingston FURY 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
    250GB SSD (can't remember the make)
    2TB HDD (again, can't remember)
    Seasonic M12II EVO Edition 850W '80 Plus Bronze' Fully Modular Power Supply
    Samsung U28E590D 4k 28" monitor (freesync, got it when I had my AMD GPU)
    2x Palit NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti Super Jetstream GPU in SLI

    Seems to be about third best in this thread but I'm pretty chuffed with it, finally made my dream PC.
     
    Last edited by cherryduck, Feb 8, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - specs,