Playstation 2 compatibility enabled for all hacked PS3 models

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by McHaggis, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. McHaggis
    OP

    Member McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    mysis and eussNL have discovered a method to enable PS2 software compatibility on PS3 consoles. This method allows newer PS3s to use the software-based emulator released with the second generation hardware.

    Source: PS3 Development Wiki via PS3Hax
     


  2. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    cool beans!
    now i'm not so annoyed my phat died and got replaced with a slim :)
     
  3. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    damn! no way for ps3 slims? i so wish there was one!

    EDIT: Wait a minute... i misread it!! Yes!! Booya!
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    It require the factory mode? That's the one with the Red square displayed on screen?
    And only for 3.55
    I think it's still not noobproof enough.

    Maybe it will become easier later (like the Cobra dongle enabling it directly from the loader. Or was Cobra switching to factory mode?)
     
  5. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    yup just read that too and it seems we need something simpler. i think there might be a way for those who understand ps3 mambo jambo on ps3hax.

    PS - did u know mambo means whats up and jambo means hello in swahili?
     
  6. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Now if only Sony would finish their work and officially release this... but don't hold our breath, it's more profitable to re-release and sell them via psn.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. McHaggis
    OP

    Member McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, it looks that way. I can't even use it because I updated to OFW ages ago (for Netflix and PSN), but it would be nice for others if it was straightforward and simple. Still, it's a step in the right direction.
     
  8. Tom

    Member Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    This doesn't really mean much, sony is planning on re-enabling ps2 support for all consoles with a software update, but i guess it's good for those on 3.55
     
  9. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    where did you hear that? Pretty certain Sony is more than happy with the scheme they got now where you buy PS2 games off PSN or have the games tarted up in a HD Collection.

    anywho I would guess the BC is similar to what the conbra dongle offered, having to use a wired controller and a broken mess of emulation, but it is progress
     
  10. DS1

    Member DS1 伝説の雀士

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Location:
    Yes!
    Country:
    United States
    Will PS2 titles still be region locked (as they are on the original 60GB model)?
     
  11. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    A psp homebrew was released a while ago to turn it into a service dongle its called ps3jig.
    It will be the same. But (unlike stated in op )backup will work if you use swap magic coder and OPL and then its region free.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. rehevkor

    Member rehevkor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bit of a faff - no use for me, alas. But a step in the right direction.
     
  13. McHaggis
    OP

    Member McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sony patented the idea of an adaptor that would provide hardware PS2 emulation to newer devices. I'm pretty sure they'd rather sell that than provide the emulation for free in a software update.

    The emulation is the same as the PS3 models that originally supported it so, AFAIK, wireless controllers should work. It wasn't perfect, though.
     
  14. GameWinner

    Member GameWinner Take your heart

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    I guess this doesn't mean much to me since I have most of my older games in the form of HD collections and some I brought off PSN. The only game I have on my PS2 is Persona 4 and even then I'm getting rid of it once I get the Vita port.
     
  15. Fear Zoa

    Member Fear Zoa This... This is the world we live in

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard the compatibility is quite shit, same compatibility as cobra I believe. Still I guess its a step in the right direction.

    (Good thing I modded that phat Ps2)
     
  16. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    Is this the same method that was posted on Ps3hax months ago?? or is this a different method
    http://www.ps3hax.net/showthread.php?t=34059
     
  17. McHaggis
    OP

    Member McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That method appears to actually downgrade the console to 2.50, which didn't have a hardware check to decide whether PS2 games should be playable or not. In the method I posted, you can stay on your current firmware version and the console appears to be tricked when it does the hardware check.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I thought PS3 could already play PS2 games
    oops
     
  19. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    The first ones could (or can, I suppose), but functionality was later removed.
     
  20. Tom

    Member Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Heard it on ps3hax.net a while back , fw 5.0
     

Share This Page