PCSX2 Optimization

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by machomuu, Jun 7, 2011.

Jun 7, 2011

PCSX2 Optimization by machomuu at 8:42 PM (8,017 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone have tips for optimizing PCSX2? I'm not expecting it to run flawlessly, but I'd prefer it to work better than it does.
     
  2. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Firstly- what are your PC specs (CPU including clockspeed, ram, gpu).

    You can try some speedhacks in the options, they give great boosts in speed (sometimes at the expense of compatibility, but it might help).
     
  3. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Um...where would I find such things? Via DXDIAG?
     
  4. Fel

    Member Fel GBAtemp's Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    So close and yet so far away.
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Yup. If you've got PC power along the lines of 4GB RAM, 3.00 GHz and 512 MB graphics card (though it all also depends on various other factors which someone else could explain better, like what company made it and how it's all tuned), then it should work flawlessly with most games. Just use DX10 in the graphics option, 4x scaling (uncheck native resolution) and you're all set to go. [​IMG]
     
  5. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    You can also go to "Can You Run It" and just chose a random game.
     
  6. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Here's all of the important stuff
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  7. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    That's weird, it's like you have the same computer has me, lol. Only I don't have a nivida and windows 7.

    I'd go with using the speedhacks.
     
  8. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, dxdiag is one way to check. You need at least a decent dual core CPU to get decent speeds, preferably somewhere near 3ghz or higher. By decent, i mean something like at least a Core 2 Duo, if not a Core i series chip. The Phenom II or Athlon II series ships from AMD will probably work well enough for many games (if clocked high enough). Intels are better though. I've got a laptop with a Core i7 that can clock upwards of 2.4-2.6ghz via turbo boost, and i still sometimes have some slowdown.

    GPU i'm not sure about the minimum specs. Tell me yours and i should be able to tell you how decent it is. First note of recommendation is to definitely not have an integrated GPU from intel. The gpu requirements aren't quite as high as the CPU. The better the GPU, the better the resolution you can crank out in games while maintaining decent speed. If you don't notice much difference when running at native or high resolution, your GPU is probably good enough and not the bottleneck.

    As long as you have at least 512MB of memory (at least DDR2), you should probably be ok there. In general, pcsx2 is mostly CPU intensive. It does have SOME ram and GPU requirements, but the CPU is the most important spec here.

    EDIT- ok saw the specs. Your CPU is clocked a little low for pcsx2. I doubt you can overclock since it's a Gateway. Your best bets is to try using speedhacks in pcsx2 settings if you haven't. GPU isn't the best either, but i think you should at least be able to handle some games at native, maybe slightly higher. I've managed native on worse.

    One other important question i forgot to ask- what games are you trying to run? Different games have different requirements. A game like Final Fantasy X or Kingdom Hearts might run easily on slower hardware. But a game like Metal Gear Solid 3 might have issues even on more powerful PC's.
     
  9. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Well the games I mainly play are:

    Persona 4 - Lags at Junes, and when too many sprites are on screen at the same time, or if a Persona is attacking. Otherwise, runs rather well.

    Shadow of the Colossus - Lags all the time. It's not terrible, but it's noticeable. I've managed to beat 7 Colossus in 3 days, so you can tell I've managed.

    Dark Cloud - Lags when too many enemies are on the screen and when at HQ area.

    Kingdom Hearts - Lags slightly. I haven't gotten to the baddies yet.

    .Hack//G.U. Vol 1 and Klanoa 2 - Lag alot.
     
  10. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    While I'm at it, are there any unofficial plugins, speed hacks, or builds I should use?
     
  11. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried two of those games- Kingdom Hearts and SOTC. SOTC is very stressful on the hardware. It pushed the PS2 to its absolute limits and lags even on normal hardware. You need a beefy PC to play it, though you might want to tinker around with speedhacks, specifically VU Cycle Stealing. I doubt you can get full speed, but you might get lucky with speedhacks.

    Kingdom Hearts is an odd one. The intro world, Destiny Islands, is one of the most stressful parts of the game. After you reach Traverse Town, the game becomes much faster. That island is just quite intensive on hardware. Again, try speedhacks. Though be careful. Some of the speedhacks cause synchronization issues with cutscenes and may cause crashes. This game seems to dislike VU Cycle Stealing.

    To try speedhacks, go it Config > Emulation Settings > Speedhacks. Enable them and play around. I usually have most of the boxes checked, but leave both MicroVU hacks unchecked (i find they cause the most glitches. The best speedups result from sliding the EE Cyclerate and VU Cycle Stealing sliders up as high as you're comfortable with. VU Cycle Stealing may result in some minor frameskipping in order to keep the audio and speed at the right rate. Just play around with them, different games like different settings.

    Just either grab the official 0.9.8 PCSX2 release from the official website. Or visit emucr (google it) and look for the latest SVN revision from there. I've not noticed much speed difference since 0.9.6, so i never saw any reason to stick with older ones.

    I don't think there's any unofficial plugins. Speedhacks are built in and can't be added as far as i know.
     
  12. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all of the help [​IMG] I'll try using your suggestions.
     
  13. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    No problem, i hope you get some speed out of it. [​IMG]
     
  14. cmpunkowns

    Newcomer cmpunkowns Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Philippines
    Does the Suikoden games require higher hardware?
     
  15. Holified 2x

    Member Holified 2x GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Having Makeup Sex Wit Sakura
    Country:
    United States
    Or u can try these intel tweaking tools http://www.mediafire.com/?um7d8u2qc5yk8k0

    This is how u use it (Can work for Pcsx2)

    Quote. Coto
    Intel Display Adapter Management Tool.exe is the tool I´ll talk about later:


    Well you see, if you have windows 7, you can switch certain games/executables to run into HW TnL & SW TnL. Some games will have a nice speed up if run from SW TnL, but since you have a pseudo celeron core, you should stick with HW TnL. You can change these modes once you open one of the 2 programs, choose the desired executable, then click on "change vertex processing mode".

    Those listed as software will run based off SF TnL, if you click change vertex processing mode, it´ll switch to HW TnL. You have to play a little with these options. To add executables you click the button called "add executables" lol.

    But I don´t think your intel card will run off HW TnL, since X3100 + was one of the first to introduce hardware GPU vertex processing. You could try it anyway...

    Basically games an emulators run faster thru SW TnL processing mode. The default is Hw TnL on all computers
     
  16. damedus

    Member damedus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    United States
    Sukoden V runs decently on a EEE pc with a dual core atom and 3650 256 video card while MKA does 13 fps so id say no Suikoden games dont require high end but ud need at least 2g of ram and 256+ video card and a dual core and up processor.
     

Share This Page