Gaming OS stuff

Sop

groovy dude lmao
OP
Banned
Trophies
XP
Country
I am a computer newb. I just built my first computer and am wondering what primary/secondary o's combination to use. Also what is Linux I know its an open source o's but.. And if you say Linux could you show me some stuff to do with it because I have seen Linux desktops that look really cool.

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Get Windows 7 and leave it at that.

I want to love Linux, I've tried to make it usable many times over, but it's just so user un-friendly. It's gotten better over the years with package managers, but anytime you go for help with an issue it's all command line (not a big deal, it's just words it's not scary) and essentially nonsensical packages that there is no way you'd be able to ever figure out on your own.
On top of that, media playback is a pain to get set up since a lot of distributions don't include things like MP3 support and require you to get them yourself, often after mucking through admin menus to enable 'non-free' (as in not open, not you pay for them) packages.

stinkoman

Magnificent Bastard
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Install Ubuntu. It's got a nice bit of software packaged with it and it's easy to get what isn't included. If you have any driver issues, message me. My last laptop had some minor issues with wifi drivers on it, but I got around them and it's an enjoyable OS.

haddad

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Slyakin said:
If you aren't sure... Get Windows 7. The best OS for newbs, unless you really want a Linux machine.

Then get Ubuntu or Kubuntu.

agreed

Rafinesque

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Actually, Linux Mint is a much better alternative for someone new to Linux (if Linux is what you want). It's based on Ubuntu, but has a lot of extras which make it much more user-friendly, such as video codecs already installed (Ubuntu doesn't include any patented software).