OKAMI

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Wiiiiiiii, Nov 30, 2008.

Nov 30, 2008

OKAMI by Wiiiiiiii at 6:47 PM (1,720 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi guys ^^

    i just wondering, i have a Japanese wii with wiikey

    is it able to play a real PAL version Okami?

    I know people say it not region compatible, but my wii plays metroid prime corruption PAL (real) ok without semi bricking it
     
  2. DokiDoki98

    Member DokiDoki98 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Why not. If it plays other PAL games, it should play Okami.
     
  3. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks, but i was just wondering if it will birck or semi brick my wii...... ^^
     
  4. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Update your WiiKey to 1.9s and set the "Block Updates" and "Dev Mode" on in the Config Disc, and it shouldn't ask you to update [​IMG]

    BTW, what version is your Wii?
     
  5. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    um i bought my wii in august this year so i guess pretty new? it came with the wii silicon jacket
     
  6. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    So it must be on 3.2 or 3.3. Yeah, you should be fine.

    You'd be better installing the Homebrew Channel and Starfall on your Wii, though [​IMG]

    And maybe GeckoOS (it's a nice App which skips updates in games and runs other regions games better on your Wii) [​IMG]
     
  7. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    to update wiikey u download from website right? then burn onto a disk?
     
  8. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive heard peopel talking about homebrew channel and starfall, i just dunno what it is

    also my wii can play homebrew games i think so long as it is on NTSC disks.
     
  9. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Exactly [​IMG] Remember to upgrade first, then run the Config disc (obviously [​IMG]) ^^
     
  10. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    config disk?

    all this stuff is confusing meh =[

    is okami on JAP disks? i think ill just get one of those to avoid bricking my wii
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Okami hasn't been released in Japan yet, and I dunno if it'll ever be released.

    If upgrading your Wiikey seems confusing, just install the Homebrew Channel. If you're on 3.2, you can simply use the selfinstalling ISO [​IMG]

    Using homebrew after that is pretty straight forward [​IMG]
     
  12. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And u know 100% that that makes a real Okami PAL work on a JAP wii?
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Yup, with GeckoOS [​IMG]
     
  14. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wow thanks, ur like an expert

    so i take it that u have tried it?

    thanks for advice ^^
     
  15. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Playing with out of region disks can brick your wii? Since when? Someone should link me a case of this happening :wtf:
     
  16. Wiiiiiiii
    OP

    Newcomer Wiiiiiiii Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think some updates can brick wii.

    but im not sure since im not knowledgeable about advance wii stuffs XD
     
  17. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh. Well then why would you update? You know when it pops up and asks if you want to update? Dont click yes. Turn off wii. Eject disk. = No brick
     

Share This Page