nvidia 310m overheating + clock speeds

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Bently, May 12, 2012.

May 12, 2012
  1. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using an ASUS ul80jt right now with these specifications:

    -i3 330UM @ 1.2ghz (Turbo33 -> @1.56gz~)
    -4GB Memory
    -NVIDIA GeForce 310m w/ 512mb vram + Intel GMA HD (Switchable graphics)

    When I run Skyrim or Minecraft for instance the fan starts roaring almost instantaneously. Checking over on MSI Afterburner (btw, I have not overclocked it yet) the GPU temperature skyrockets from 60-70~ to nearly 90+ (degrees celsius) . How could I fix this?

    Also how would I change the clock speed? It appears it doesn't change from the really low stock settings (core: 405mhz, shader: 810mhz, and memory: 405mhz).
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    The main reason this happens is because it's a laptop, most high performance laptops are known for overheating quickly.


    However, you should check for dust on the fans and clean them off if any, you could also buy a laptop cooling pad (you can find them anywhere from $5-$20 online), or you can try underclocking your GPU (if available, I'm not sure if it is or not) which would also obviously lead to less performance.
     
  3. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    >< , I'll try checking for dust. Yes, I do happen to have multiple cooling pads but it just seems absurd how quickly it heats up. I think it's already been overclocked, speeds are considerably lower than the stock speeds.
     
  4. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    You don't need to change the clock speeds, the system probably downclocks the GPU when it's not in use to save on energy consumption. My GTX260 does that.

    It should automatically get on stock frequencies under heavy load.

    Anyway, I know that it isn't right to compare desktop GPUs with laptop GPUs, but that temperature is probably normal. At least my GTX260 also does ~90°C (and it's a LOT bigger and has a giant cooling fan on it) when playing games.
     
  5. chains_of_androm

    Member chains_of_androm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Could be bad thermal paste job, I think a batch of MacBook Pros had the same issue awhile back. Maybe take it apart and reapply thermal paste (you actually need only a small amount).
     
  6. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, we'll I've seem to have been able to overclock it with afterburner now. It's running a little over stock speeds and no noticeably different temperatures now. Staying constant 80's-90. But yes, I think I was overreacting. The fan doesn't seem to roar in pain anymore. (Probably because I updated both graphics card drivers? Unsure.)

    On 301.24 Beta for Nvidia and the latest for intel.


    That seems like a lot of work for me. Don't have much experience with the hardware side of computers to be honest.
     
  7. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Most laptops also require to be unscrewed COMPLETELY to access the coolers, which is really difficult if you're not experienced.

    Some laptops might have "bays" at the bottom to let you easily clean the coolers and change the thermal paste. But then again, if you're not experienced in it, don't do it.
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For the temp to jump that quickly, its reading the core temp instead of the external temp. When extra voltage gets put to it (switching from idle to load configs) that will spike the temps instantly.

    Also consider the 310m is not actually a strong graphics chip, so it has to work very hard to play games with large view distances like Skyrim and Minecraft.
     
  9. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I wasn't going to try :P. If anything the most I would do is open it up and use compressed air to clean out any dust.

    I see. But I've learned that my GPU has 3 different clock levels that it switches between.
    1st level- Core: 135Mhz, Memory: 135Mhz, Shader: 270Mhz
    2nd level- Core: 405Mhz, Memory: 405Mhz, Shader: 810Mhz
    3rd level (default clock/stock clock)- Core: 606Mhz, Memory: 667Mhz, Shader: 1468Mhz

    Now the problem is, my computer only switches between the first 2 levels. It hardly ever goes into the 3rd level, is there a way to manually override these levels? I would really like to play games on the default clock settings :x.
     
  10. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If I recall, the "stock clock" is only for when it's heavily demanded. I don't know by which logic it switches between "modes" so I can't really help you force it on the highest mode.
     
  11. Bently
    OP

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I realized that much. I somewhat fixed this issue by enabling the highest level to be turned on when the GPU load hits a certain percentage.
    Now for some reason, the heat is getting worse. Going up to 100 degrees now, cooling pad not helping at all.. Right when it hits 100 degrees games start lagging up and the frame rate drops to 1.


    EDIT: Solved, will be posting full solution/process here.
     
  12. Pinchokio

    Newcomer Pinchokio Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi, I have the exact same problem, can you post the solution please, thanks
     
  13. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,373
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't anything above 80 Celsius dangerous?
     
  14. Pinchokio

    Newcomer Pinchokio Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    yea probably, my gpu never had overheating problems before, but after getting my laptop fixed it overheats to a point where it starts lagging even though I am using the same programs.

    It's the exact same problem as Bently's, it goes over 100 degrees at this "stock clock".
    2nd level only brings it to 70 degrees so I am okay with that.
     
  15. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,373
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have proper ventilation and/or a cooler for the laptop?
     
  16. Pinchokio

    Newcomer Pinchokio Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    yea I do, cleaned fans and cooling pad
     

Share This Page