Nintendos latest update adds SD-card support!

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by JussiPik, Mar 25, 2009.

Mar 25, 2009
  1. JussiPik
    OP

    Member JussiPik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Finland
    yeah it`s out now, just updated my wii. the version i have now is 4.0E
     
  2. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    What the hell?
     
  3. pika9323

    Member pika9323 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    Germany
    Epic Fail... Edit: Not =P

    @Brian117:
    You have 1337 Posts =)

    Edit:
    Well thats true!
    I read in another Forum that 4.0E is out!
    It adds SD support to load Wiiware VC etc. over the SD Card!

    Edit2:
    Here is a video:
    http://files.me.com/whiteyoshi/qwr374


    Also i heared that SDHC Support is added =)
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    OMG you updated??? i bet nothing works again now the cios and ios downgrade will be useless as well as tp. did you try playing madworld? bet it dont work.
     
  5. JussiPik
    OP

    Member JussiPik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Finland
    hbc is working, madworld is working.no problems in my end.
     
  6. CyberAxe

    Newcomer CyberAxe Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried using the backup launcher or gamecube backup launcher? (assuming you had cios or mio installed prior to install that is as i'd imagine the installers dont work post install)
     
  7. JussiPik
    OP

    Member JussiPik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Finland
    look, i have modchip, i don`t need backup launcher.
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    can you still install wads??
     
  9. JussiPik
    OP

    Member JussiPik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Finland
  10. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I upgraded, but I don't mooch so it wasn't an issue.

    I read that the HBC channel is fine, but the Twilight Hack is dead, but the maker is coming out with something new to get around that. He also said the way the SD card is now polled by the system, more holes are present than before or at least looks that way.
     
  11. 7528lawrence

    Newcomer 7528lawrence Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi I Just Updated My wii to menu 4.0 and was able to use the cios downgrader 1.2 to go back to menu 3.2 then i used ios downgrader 1.1 i did not have to use cios fix with cios wadmannager.I just thought i would let you know.
     
  12. sparky28000

    Member sparky28000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    Netherlands
    this update is totaly useless exept the sdhc support cuz if you start a game for the sd it copys a exact same file tot the wii self but you yust cant see it it i just as big as the vc game it self (so it is usless)
     
  13. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    If you think it's useless, you're an idiot and likely are doing something wrong or haven't done it yet to see why.

    Suddenly freeing up like 500MB of space on the Wii and dumping it all to a SD card does wonders for your ability to rapidly run games. yes it transfers a copy into ghost data on the system of the 1 game you last ran...so what? You can now run a crap load more stuff and fast, and you can save from the shop to the card too. The storage issue is more or less solved on the system outside of potentially still small 'max allowed' file sizes unless that was addressed too.
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    of course its not useless even though it copies the game from sd to wii BUT the games AREN'T on the wii taking up space in the 1st place. SO copying over the game won't take up all your space. unless you have 512mb of saves games which is impossible!!
     
  15. Tom

    Member Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    rlly?sucks 4 u the more u update the less homebrew u can use.I still have 3.4 i love it.I have hbc i put it on through twilight hack i rented the game so i have a loader and i don't risk updating anymore
     

Share This Page