Hacking New 3DS XL doesn't boot... sometimes

Jhynjhiruu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
1,708
Country
Me again, sorry... I finally managed to get a systransfer to work from my older 3DS to my SNES Edition and... yeah, I have a bit of a problem. Not sure why, but if I restore NAND or whatever, the system boots about twice, then fails to boot every time after that. It's just stuck with the blue LED on, the screens off, and I have to hold the power button down for AGES to get it to turn off. I'm going to try and format it, but I'm a little lost as to what could have caused this. Any ideas?
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,067
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
6,077
Country
United States
Try putting Luma on the NAND and booting without the SD a few times to see if it still happens. If it does then it's something with the NAND. You can try doing a ctrtransfer to an earlier version and then update normally back to 11.6 to see if that helps.
 

Jhynjhiruu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
1,708
Country
Try putting Luma on the NAND and booting without the SD a few times to see if it still happens. If it does then it's something with the NAND. You can try doing a ctrtransfer to an earlier version and then update normally back to 11.6 to see if that helps.
Doesn't boot from NAND, probably should have mentioned that I tried that. But I just reseated the SD card and it booted, so it could be something to do with Luma being annoying
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,067
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
6,077
Country
United States
So it doesn't boot from NAND period? That kinda denotes there's something wrong with the NAND. I build from Luma's master once a week, and I don't have this problem. So if you're using the stable, public release I don't think it'd be a problem with it. It's rare, but N3DSs especially have been known to ship with faulty NANDs. This of course would be a worst-case scenario, and you should do a lot more trial-and-error before coming to that conclusion.

I see you said that you had a difficult time getting your O3DS to transfer to the new one, so it's possible something went wrong during the transfer and corrupted something on the NAND. I suggest using a ctrtransfer to go to 9.2 and update back through System Settings.
 

PixelTheKWolf

Memelord Deluxe
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
276
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere, Up high in the Sky...
XP
255
Country
United States
Doesn't boot from NAND, probably should have mentioned that I tried that. But I just reseated the SD card and it booted, so it could be something to do with Luma being annoying
I'd suggest trying another sd card, and just copy everything from the old one to the new one. You'd be suprised as to what happens with a bad sdcard.
 

PixelTheKWolf

Memelord Deluxe
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
276
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere, Up high in the Sky...
XP
255
Country
United States
Doesn't boot from NAND, probably should have mentioned that I tried that. But I just reseated the SD card and it booted, so it could be something to do with Luma being annoying
I'd suggest trying another sd card, and just copy everything from the old one to the new one. You'd be suprised as to what happens with a bad sdcard.
Edit: Sorry, double post. GBATemp is being derpy.
 

Jhynjhiruu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
1,708
Country
So it doesn't boot from NAND period? That kinda denotes there's something wrong with the NAND. I build from Luma's master once a week, and I don't have this problem. So if you're using the stable, public release I don't think it'd be a problem with it. It's rare, but N3DSs especially have been known to ship with faulty NANDs. This of course would be a worst-case scenario, and you should do a lot more trial-and-error before coming to that conclusion.

I see you said that you had a difficult time getting your O3DS to transfer to the new one, so it's possible something went wrong during the transfer and corrupted something on the NAND. I suggest using a ctrtransfer to go to 9.2 and update back through System Settings.
Yeah... you have a few things wrong here. Firstly, it wasn't an O3DS it was a N3DS that I bought a while ago, secondly, remember how, in the OP and the title I said that it boots sometimes? Plus, I said a few minutes ago that I reinserted the SD card and it worked, gonna mess around a bit more.
This did happen just after I used LumaUpdater, but I can't remember whether it was happening before. I'm fairly sure it's not a NAND problem, though, with all the CTRTransfers and whatever it's possible. Also, I have a couple of problems with (at least 1) NTR game, but that could just be mucky contacts.
 

Joom

 ❤❤❤
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
6,067
Trophies
1
Location
US
Website
mogbox.net
XP
6,077
Country
United States
Ah, you saying "older" caused me to assume. My bad. Also, I didn't miss title or anything. I was trying to help you rule out whether or not it's your NAND or SD giving you problems. That's why I was asking if the problem happened when booting without the SD. There are so many possible scenarios here because you didn't tell us what all you've tried. Now that I know that you used Luma Updater it's possible that it corrupted the payload.
 

Jhynjhiruu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
1,708
Country
Ah, you saying "older" caused me to assume. My bad. Also, I didn't miss title or anything. I was trying to help you rule out whether or not it's your NAND or SD giving you problems. That's why I was asking if the problem happened when booting without the SD. There are so many possible scenarios here because you didn't tell us what all you've tried. Now that I know that you used Luma Updater it's possible that it corrupted the payload.
Oh, sorry... Well, I'm not sure, could be many things.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I went to auction at a mom/pops video game store few months ago that was closing, and bought 11 slims for $200, 1 was DOA but 10 work fine. so hella deal. Already rgh3'ed 8 of them. But most younger kids don't even want anymore, unless it plays stupid "fortnight", or newer shit.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Think I'm gonna use my giftcard balance on a nice pair of headphones but $100 is still limited
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Soundcore q30s are nice but they leak so much sound it sounds like speakers
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Ken spend the 100 on a gun and skii mask, wait for a jogger at the park jewelry money and headphones!
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If only Amazon sold guns
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Fucking dick heads think it's a bad idea to get a gun 2 days later
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Wait, I thought you were the dickhe...nvm
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I got balls on my chin and two dicks on my forehead sir
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Sorry, no offense there double dickhead chinballs.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Chicks still love it
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    "Mommy, look, what is that?". "That's your soon to be daddy."
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That you'll only see once
    +2
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Double dickhead chinballs is still better than double dickhead eyeballs.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    As in, the balls will grow in your eye sockets.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I paid 5 grand to get them moved to my chin
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    This you?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My hair can't be that cool
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Ah, yes, portrait mode, surely the best way to film a row of people. If only there were some way to fit a wider shot, at the expense of height... if only...
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    4k portrait mode?
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtu.be/Rx-KuevU4h4?si=1MoSvL-y5fFFHf58 Damn kinda sad for Iran