need help finding ORIGINAL 00000042.app

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by swimmeringer, Feb 14, 2009.

Feb 14, 2009
  1. swimmeringer
    OP

    Member swimmeringer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    United States
    So I've successfully installed Riiskiimod on my Wii at home. Now I'm at Chicago where I'm using Softmii for his Wii. I was tricked into using Softmii Tweaks and now his system menu looks like poop.

    I've used FS Browser to locate the 000000000000000000000000000042.app file and tried installing that but it said the system files were corrupted once I rebooted. So can anyone PLEASE help me find the ORIGINAL 0000000042.app file? Where everything looks totally normal and boring? Please. Thank you.
     
  2. malverns

    Newcomer malverns Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Well considering it contains ninty code no ones just genna hand you a link as it's against the rules.


    HOWEVER.. if you would like go back to the default wii menu/health screen etc etc...

    just run the AnyRegionChanger and it will install all the default menu's for you...
     
  3. forbore

    Member forbore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    /dev/canada/quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Use FS Dumper and browser to /0000001/0000002/. YOu should see it. Press (1) to dump it. THe smarter choice would be to do a whole dump that way you have it in case of emergency,
     
  4. SilverSurfR

    Member SilverSurfR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    But if he has already added a custom health screen, doesn't that mean the *42.app on his NAND is not the original, which is what he's looking for?
     
  5. oneleggedjack

    Member oneleggedjack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know for sure but here's what I think you gotta do

    get this disc

    NTSC
    http://www.console-scene.info/files/wii-sy...-v289-repad.rar

    OR

    PAL
    http://www.console-scene.info/files/wii-sy...-v290-repad.rar

    Use Wiiscrubber to extract SystemMenu-v2xx.wad

    Unpack the wad with these tools
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mc7dtt3zl1v
    (rename the wad to in.wad)

    find the 00000001.app

    rename it
    00000042.app for NTSC
    00000045.app for PAL
    then install it with the Softmii App

    Do not install it until someone else verifies this is the right app file
     
  6. SilverSurfR

    Member SilverSurfR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Flag by his user info is USA. so he should be NTSC.

    And that is the correct file. I did the steps before you posted to check, and verified with the *42.app on my NAND. Those are the 2 files and their MD5 hashes.

    9aae1917fdb8ba4d409664c230d89b27 00000001.app
    9aae1917fdb8ba4d409664c230d89b27 00000042.app
     
  7. blitter

    Newcomer blitter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    42=NTSC, so run this image through healthii - then use wad manager to run healthii installer to install the generated .health file (there are other ways, take your pick)
    [​IMG]
     
  8. SilverSurfR

    Member SilverSurfR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    the healthii produced file is not an exact original. MD5 doesn't match those I posted. so it's more of a "replica" than an original [​IMG]
     
  9. blitter

    Newcomer blitter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hehe I agree. but a softmii'ed Wii with a boring health screen is never going to pass any MD5 check [​IMG]
     
  10. Puma

    Member Puma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    No, you weren't. You didn't have to, you chose to. Don't blame it on SoftMii since you are retarded and don't do research before you do something. The revert is simple, get a custom health screen and use that. You were stupid enough not to back it up first, and thats you're problem, not ours.
     
  11. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Yeah, but the install doc doesn't state what it does. They could have said that it was optional and that it gave you a softmii themed wii.
     
  12. Puma

    Member Puma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    Or you could do 30 seconds of research and figure it out on your own? Don't expect a guide to know everything, or to figure everything out for you.

    Don't argue with me when you know you're wrong.
     

Share This Page