N64 not working

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Leach, Jun 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jun 20, 2011

N64 not working by Leach at 3:27 PM (2,478 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Leach
    OP

    Newcomer Leach Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    So I stumbled upon a very sweet deal the other day. N64 + PSone for 10 bucks. Controllers, cables, even an expansion pak in the 64.
    When I got home however, and plugged the Nintendo in, there was no picture nor sound on the TV. I cleaned everything (a lot of dirt came out), removed the expansion, tried a different AV cable, which works perfectly fine with my other N64. I even disassembled the whole thing to clean it but had no luck. When I power the console on, the red light turns on, so it's not dead but there is no picture nor sound.
    Of course I searched around and everyone suggests cleaning the unit. Doesn't work with me though.
     
  2. MSaki

    Member MSaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Destruction of this planet
    Country:
    United States
    blow air in the expansion slot to get the dust and dirt out and do the same with the game slot also check the game. if the system still will not boot check the cords see if any are cut.

    finally if all hope is lost open up and clean it out also check the slots and see where the pinouts are if any are broken or rusted.

    the main things that could cause the problem mentioned is messed up av cord, exp pack not inserted or dirty same with game. also this is going to sound dumb but do you have a game inserted because the n64 doesn't have any kind of boot sequence when nothing inserted black screen when inserted it plays.


    Hope it will be working soon MSaki
     
  3. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniacâ„¢

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    If you cleaned it all out, it's gotta be a hardware issue (that can't really be determined by the info given) OR a contact issue with the game or cord port? [​IMG]

    I am not so good at "stab in the dark" fixes, I usually only take on repairs when I know what is wrong lol.
     
  4. Leach
    OP

    Newcomer Leach Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    I have two N64s (PAL and NTSC), so I tested this system with cables and games that are working. Also the expansion and cables that came with this console work fine. I cleaned everything, the pinouts are ok and I even disassembled the whole thing to clean it throughly. The red LED lights up and that's it.
    I searched around and many people seem to be having the same problem after they left their consoles unused for a very long period of time. But what might be causing it? N64s are pretty tough...

    EDIT:
    Nevermind, guys. I fiddled with it a little more and it worked like a charm. I didn't do anything in particular, just reinserted the game and expansion pak a few times and it started. Thread can be locked. [​IMG]
     
  5. MSaki

    Member MSaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Destruction of this planet
    Country:
    United States
    good [​IMG]






    ~CLOSED~
     
  6. Lucifer666

    Member Lucifer666 all the world needs is me

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,393
    Location:
    The Fourth Dimension
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Mine also shows signs of life but does not display any image or play any sounds.
    Looks like I'll have to clean mine up big time.
     
  7. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    I got one 3 months ago (the 11 year old one I had before, got badly damaged when trying to overclock it). And somehow it showed the same symptoms, but once I cleaned the ports better (using a toothbrush) it worked all fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page