My Wii needs help!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by alanlee87, Dec 1, 2011.

Dec 1, 2011

My Wii needs help! by alanlee87 at 3:16 PM (1,147 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. alanlee87
    OP

    Newcomer alanlee87 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I've been searching around everywhere and I can't find a thread or anything about all these issues.

    Ok I did a softmod on my Wii a week ago using ModMii and LetterBomb for 4.3. Everything worked fine and the Wii was great for about a week.

    It played Zelda Skyward Sword, I could use Neogamma etc. Everything worked great.

    I turn on my Wii today and it every time I try to load Zelda SS, it just goes to a black screen and the remote disconnects. I try to go to settings and I just get hung on a black screen. I try to go to Homebrew Channel... black screen.

    I reboot the wii and hold the + and - down and it goes into maintenance mode and it will play Zelda SS and go into Wii settings but it won't load the HBC.

    I turn the wii on, holding down the reset button to take me to Pri loader and i go to the HBC directly and it works. I use Neogamma, play whatever game I want and it works.

    Is there anyway I can do everything without having to go into maintenance mode or using priiloader?

    I tried to reinstall the WADs but it eventually goes to a black screen. I am using WiiMod 3.0 to install the WADs that ModMii gave me.

    My Wii needs help! Is it my Wii that is the problem? I bought it used online from cowboom.com and it came with a replacement warranty, should I just wipe everything to make it stock and send it in?

    Any thoughts, suggestions, advice or help?
     
  2. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ouch, sounds painful.
    If you took a nand backup (which you shouldve) you can try to restore that and see if that fixes the problem.
     
  3. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    at any point in time during all of this, did you change your menu screen (from origanl to darkred/blue ). an what region did you use. this sounds like it a simi brick. an can be fixed. with a dump of your nand, or changing your menu to the origanl.(not a wad of the menu). also post a sys check. if you can.
     
  4. alanlee87
    OP

    Newcomer alanlee87 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Here's the funny part....

    I did take a NAND backup and left it on my SD card. I reformatted the SD card when I tried to re use modmii to reinstall all the WADs etc.

    Am i SOL?

    The wii works ok in Maintenance mode. It will play games and will occasionally go to HBC. Using Priiloader, i can get to HBC and run whatever I want. Just turning on the Wii normally I can't do anything.

    Maybe it is an issue with the hardware? Like it fails under stress. I don't know. its not overheating. I changed the position of the wii and the location. Nothing.


    No I never used a custom theme. I am in NA, 4.3U. Let me download the syscheck stuff and post it.
     
  5. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    no not sol, cause you can still get to the areas/apps you need to. go into homebrew, an do a nand dump, not sure if it will dump your problem that your having. then reset priiloader with none of the hacks active. also if wii connect24 is on turn it off. until you have it fixed, cause if you had priiloader an didn't set block all updates/online updates. it could have ran a update an you not know it.
     
  6. alanlee87
    OP

    Newcomer alanlee87 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Here is my Syscheck:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  7. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    ? why so many nand access? what guide did you follow to hack? my suggestion is to rehack the wii, using mod mii. with the system updater.(just drag an drop). your system check into mod mii.
    had to look at mine twice, mine only has ios 50,60,70 an all the cios . looks like you tried to downgrade or some thing. mybe someone who has seen this before could help.
    here is my sys check.
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Or you can brick your wii by just doing that. You can safely assume from anybody who hacked his wii in the last year that he does not have BootMii boot2. And if BootMii IOS gets an error during the restore process, it just stops. And trying again will prove difficult in that case, because basically any file on nand will be broken if your nand is half the old and half the new one.

    The nand backup with BootMii is important, but only as last resort. If you can boot HBC, you must not restore the nand with it. It will be very helpful in case you ever get a full brick and send your wii to somebody who knows his stuff and has a nand programmer.
     
  9. alanlee87
    OP

    Newcomer alanlee87 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    So i just used ModMii to update all the files, I dragged the sys check. Everything ran smoothly. During the WADs install, the screen went black but the wii blue light on the disc drive was still blue and the remote was still connected. I was thinking that it was a black screen and that I needed to power down and turn it back on but just to try everything possible, i unplug the cables from my TV and plug them back in and LO AND BEHOLD, it is still installing the WADs, it cuts to black again i unplug and replug the cables and it is back!!!

    after everything installs, i can access the HBC from the wii menu and launch things, i can access the wii settings and everything! everything seems to be working fine!

    so now, if i get another black screen but the wii is still on etc, and i unplug it and re plug it back in and it works, how do i fix this? like so i don't have to get up every time. do I just buy new cables?
     
  10. alanlee87
    OP

    Newcomer alanlee87 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    NEVERMIND!

    So as I was typing my last post, I was loading my SD card with an emulator and other things and i put that into my wii and i run neogamma and try to play a game and I get a black screen but the wii remote disconnects. I unplug the cables like I did last time, nothing. I turn it off go into the system menu and go to HBC and then I get a black screen and the wii remote disconnects. I try the cables again, it is just a black screen. I power off and boot into prii loader and run a sys check and this is what I get:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Is there a way to make my Wii completely stock, like similar to an iPhone/IPod Restore? And then I can just rehack it?
     
  11. Captain_N

    Member Captain_N GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    I suppose you could just install the Offical Ios from nintendo. I have them all if you need them.
    just dont mess with the system menu ios.
     
  12. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    All those IOSes that have just "NAND access" have something wrong with them. They should report "No Patches". If you've reinstalled them and they're still blackscreening and showing NAND access, you have something horribly wrong with your wii. If IOS58 was really patched, HBC would be upside down.

    As already stated, do NOT attempt to restore any sort of NAND backup with bootmii IOS.

    Consider trying SNEEK. You can set it up to autoboot via priiloader (I forget how, but someone else can probably explain), then forget about your real NAND completely.
     
  13. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    I think the report of nand access is just an error in the syscheck report, they can't really have it.
     
  14. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    They aren't patched, it's because he is using an older version of SysCheck.
     
  15. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Do the older versions of syscheck have a bug or something? I've never seen an inaccurate report like this one.
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It was just v2.0 that had it.
     
  17. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Never knew that. Learned something new today :)
     
  18. Deanr1977

    Newcomer Deanr1977 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds like a semibrick? maybe a corrupt systems menu? if you cant use a backup from bootmii why not try the program themewii? it can replace system menu themed screens.... but also if you press the + button once its fully loaded up it will download your system menu from the internet & replace your screen with an orig! Dunno if this will solve your problem but it cant hurt? I know installing custom themes can be dangerous but its replacing yours from an orig so should be much safer :) if this helps then make a backup via bootmii & place that in a safe place! B-)

    Hope this solves your problem
     

Share This Page