My first Dreamcast, but wires missing! Help/advice?

godzillafan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
129
Trophies
0
XP
250
Country
Hi Guys,

Just bought a Dreamcast and it turned up with just a controller and 4mb card. I am not complaining for £10 delivered.

There was no wires.

Can anyone confirm what power lead and wires I need to setup with the TV, I don't mind scart or anything 3rd party?

I then play to use with iso games on disk (as I have about 500 plain discs cd-r)!

Any advice or links to what the wire/power lead setup should be?

Cheers guys
 

KiiWii

Editorial Team
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
16,716
Trophies
3
Website
defaultdnb.github.io
XP
27,310
Country
United Kingdom
Any old figure of 8 power cable will work. I bought a AV-lead from eBay for £2.99 delieverd and plugged it into my HDMI upscaler.

I also nabbed a Dreamshell from the states for £27 shipped, works for most games but Shenmue 1+2 need to be burnt to disks to play anyway.
 

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,033
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,299
Country
China
the one that connects to tv is a proprietary one... the cable that comes with the console connects to rca (yellow, red, white)
there is other options as scart (or just a rca to scart adaptor)

the power one is a normal plug that you find in lots of appliances (like vcr) it doesn't need a ac\dc adaptor\converter...

heres a manual that you can find more info: http://pscd.ru/info/49-sega-dreamcast-instruction-manual.html
 
  • Like
Reactions: godzillafan

godzillafan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
129
Trophies
0
XP
250
Country
Great stuff, so that the power cable done a basic 8 job, will have one of those knocking around the house.

The scart options - any pics or links if there is a choice - I guess any cheapo job would do it.

Will do a another thread on the burning side of thing once, I got it working
 

Lumstar

Princess
Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
4,106
Trophies
1
Location
Darling
Website
eonhack.blogspot.com
XP
1,868
Country
United States
The power lead itself is generic. Check thrift shops if necessary.
To be safe, first confirm the system's region. Dreamcast does not contain a 100V~240V power supply!

There's four standard video leads, and external RF boxes (no modulator inside the console)

composite and s-video are fairly obvious.

In general you'll want to use RGB on an SDTV, or VGA on an HDTV.
While some games don't support one or the other (it varies), a few have patches to fix that.

Keep in mind genuine games are region coded. Boot discs help, but AFAIK modding is needed to permanently automate loading GD-ROM imports.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godzillafan

godzillafan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
129
Trophies
0
XP
250
Country
cheers guys, I shall hit the bay for the av cable - I guess thats a HK job

The power lead itself is generic. Check thrift shops if necessary.
To be safe, first confirm the system's region. Dreamcast does not contain a 100V~240V power supply!

There's four standard video leads, and external RF boxes (no modulator inside the console)

composite and s-video are fairly obvious.

In general you'll want to use RGB on an SDTV, or VGA on an HDTV.
While some games don't support one or the other (it varies), a few have patches to fix that.

Keep in mind genuine games are region coded. Boot discs help, but AFAIK modding is needed to permanently automate loading GD-ROM imports.


Its a defo UK Pal job and - looks like the vga option is best for me
 

KiiWii

Editorial Team
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
16,716
Trophies
3
Website
defaultdnb.github.io
XP
27,310
Country
United Kingdom
Lumstar can't you flash a modded bios for region free via the Dreamshell boot cd?

I was reading about this the other day: there is a region free bios with the Dev console start up animation that should be flashable from Dreamshell boot disk. All he would need is the SD adaptor or perhaps a disk to swap with that contains the bios?

EDIT: http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/sega-dreamcast-region-free-bios/
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,835
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,908
Country
Poland
These days there is no need for a separate boot disk.

There are available ISOs that have the boot code slipstreamed.
I like using clean rips (or rather "relatively clean" since proper rips can't fit on a CD, GD -ROM being a little over 1GB), but yes, that's also an option.
 

Lumstar

Princess
Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
4,106
Trophies
1
Location
Darling
Website
eonhack.blogspot.com
XP
1,868
Country
United States
Lumstar can't you flash a modded bios for region free via the Dreamshell boot cd?

I was reading about this the other day: there is a region free bios with the Dev console start up animation that should be flashable from Dreamshell boot disk. All he would need is the SD adaptor or perhaps a disk to swap with that contains the bios?

EDIT: http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/sega-dreamcast-region-free-bios/

Yeah the fairly simple mod is a bit different. It instead switches between regions.
http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/dreamcast-region-change/

4 wire mod chip comes after that in difficulty.
Replacing the actual bios is hardest of course.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Ughh gonna be bored today, class for new job has a lot of networking material and I'm certified in that already...
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Peen apple.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    "pine unf apple" doesn't count! Lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Employee code of conduct videos are awesome!!! Did you know eating the other employees is bad? I didn't know... Lol
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Anymore males there? :blush:
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    All of us lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I got free every channel so that's awesome lol
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Give me ALL the gay pron channels, since you won't be watching them :blush::D
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol they exist?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Hmmm so Mario Does Luigi's plumbing is a bad movie? Lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    These videos are soooo dry
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Please click all suspicious links sent your email
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What to do today? Cut grass for 3-4 hours, or just get drunk and play video games... Hmm
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I need a remote controlled mower, so I can sit on the couch and do both.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Sounds good to me, video games and booze it is then.
    +1
  • denpafan @ denpafan:
    Good choice
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Now what to play, Starfield or Fallout4. And what to drink, beer or Whiskey and Coke. Such tough decisions.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Looks like its whiskey & coke, only 4 beers left. And think ill start with Falllout. :grog:
  • rqkaiju2 @ rqkaiju2:
    THIS IMAGE IS SO SCARY WTF. THAT SURE AS HELL IS NOT A CAT THATS LIKE A FUCKING DEMON

    Untitled2.png
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Bonus points for running things over with the lawn mower?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Monster truck Lawn Mower extreme
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Monster truck Lawn Mower extreme