Hardware Minor HD60 Pro Problem

gudenau

Largely ignored
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,821
Trophies
1
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
4,149
Country
United States
I have a HD 60 Pro from Elgato and I have one minor issue with it, I need my PC on when it is inline with my Wii U to get signal out of it. This had me wondering how I could set this up in a more usable manor.

I have it setup like this:
Code:
Wii U - HD60 Pro - Monitor - PC Line In - speakers

I was thinking a couple other methods.
Code:
Wii U - Splitter
Splitter - Monitor - audio mixer
Splitter - HD60 Pro
PC - speakers
audio mixer - speakers
or
Code:
Wii U - splitter
splitter - HD60 Pro - switch
splitter - switch
switch - monitor - mixer
PC - mixer
mixer - speakers

I would like to hear thoughts about this.
 

TotalInsanity4

GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
10,806
Trophies
0
Location
Under a rock
XP
9,803
Country
United States
I have a HD 60 Pro from Elgato and I have one minor issue with it, I need my PC on when it is inline with my Wii U to get signal out of it. This had me wondering how I could set this up in a more usable manor.

I have it setup like this:
Code:
Wii U - HD60 Pro - Monitor - PC Line In - speakers

I was thinking a couple other methods.
Code:
Wii U - Splitter
Splitter - Monitor - audio mixer
Splitter - HD60 Pro
PC - speakers
audio mixer - speakers
or
Code:
Wii U - splitter
splitter - HD60 Pro - switch
splitter - switch
switch - monitor - mixer
PC - mixer
mixer - speakers

I would like to hear thoughts about this.
Oy my eyes, please don't use code tags if you're not posting code, use bullets for list and > to show a sequence

Anyway, your best bet is
Wii U > splitter > HD60 Pro
..........................> Monitor/TV

That simple. The Elgato should read the Wii U's audio over HDMI, so I don't exactly get what you're using external audio shenanigans for... You also shouldn't need a switch, as a splitter would already be broadcasting to both outputs no matter if there's a monitor to receive them or not
 
Last edited by TotalInsanity4,

gudenau

Largely ignored
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,821
Trophies
1
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
4,149
Country
United States
Oy my eyes, please don't use code tags if you're not posting code, use bullets for list and > to show a sequence

Anyway, your best bet is
Wii U > splitter > HD60 Pro
..........................> Monitor/TV

That simple. The Elgato should read the Wii U's audio over HDMI, so I don't exactly get what you're using external audio shenanigans for... You also shouldn't need a switch, as a splitter would already be broadcasting to both outputs no matter if there's a monitor to receive them or not
I would need a mixer as my monitors sound output from the HDMI goes though my PC so I can use the same set of speakers.
 

TotalInsanity4

GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
10,806
Trophies
0
Location
Under a rock
XP
9,803
Country
United States
I would need a mixer as my monitors sound output from the HDMI goes though my PC so I can use the same set of speakers.
I still don't understand why that can't be handled by software through the elgato. The way I understand it you are recording sound and video from the Wii U, which is then streamed to your computer, which can then be played straight through the speakers. With the splitter the other end is just going directly to your monitor, which has internal speakers, right?
 

gudenau

Largely ignored
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,821
Trophies
1
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
4,149
Country
United States
I still don't understand why that can't be handled by software through the elgato. The way I understand it you are recording sound and video from the Wii U, which is then streamed to your computer, which can then be played straight through the speakers. With the splitter the other end is just going directly to your monitor, which has internal speakers, right?
My monitor does not have speakers, only an audio out. Hence the PC passthough. I don't use that to record, just to play. I use the HDMI source for recording.

Edit:
Any splitter recommendations? I could just make a mixer.
 
Last edited by gudenau,

TotalInsanity4

GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
10,806
Trophies
0
Location
Under a rock
XP
9,803
Country
United States
My monitor does not have speakers, only an audio out. Hence the PC passthough. I don't use that to record, just to play. I use the HDMI source for recording.

Edit:
Any splitter recommendations? I could just make a mixer.
Ah, I see what you're saying now.

Just look on Amazon for something cheap that has good reviews lol
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Wii