Mario Party DS not working on 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by ElvinBautista, Feb 6, 2012.

Feb 6, 2012
  1. ElvinBautista
    OP

    Newcomer ElvinBautista Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    So i just bought a R4i 3DS with the website http://www.r4i-sdhc.com/ on the front, and my 3DS is ver. 3.0.0-6U

    and i always get " disk errcode=-83" when trying to run mario party DS. Every other game works except this one. I tried downloading this game from multiple different sources and i even downloaded the diff language versions and i always get the same. Any help?
     
  2. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously? It took a 5 second google search to find http://www.r4i-sdhc.com/rde.asp
    Try google next time, I heard it's a good resource for information, then if that fails ask here.
     
  3. ElvinBautista
    OP

    Newcomer ElvinBautista Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Heh, i join what seemed like a friendly community only to walk straight into an asshole. No biggie.

    I would think it would be obvious that i went that route if i:
    A. Put a link to the same site you linked me
    B. came here with just about every piece of information needed in order to help me like the name of the website on the cartridge and the details that make my case strange.

    So to answer your unnecessarily elitist comment, yes i already formatted my SD card and im getting the same result.
     
    2 people like this.
  4. Gaiaknight

    Member Gaiaknight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Location:
    howell, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    did you try another rom?
     
  5. ElvinBautista
    OP

    Newcomer ElvinBautista Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, i even tried the European version just in case.
     
  6. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,766
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    Very weird, someone else with the same cart have this issue? What R4i firmware are you on?
     
  7. WatchGintama

    Member WatchGintama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Try using the website's latest firmware. If it still doesn't work, then it hasn't been fixed by the team yet. I'm not sure if Retrogamefan's firmware will work for you (maybe someone else can confirm this).
    You probably should have went with a better flashcart (http://www.r4ids.cn/ + WOODR4 or the Acekard 2i + AKAIO)
     
  8. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,950
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry you ran into CollosalPokemon on your first day in the Temp. Welcome, by the way.

    1. What kind of MicroSD card are you using? Please give Class, Brand and Size.
    2. You are using one of MANY clones of what WAS the best DS Flashcard, a long time ago.

    If I come across as rude, I apologize. However, for a generic card, you will get a generic answer. It may very well be either your Flashcard, or your mSD.
     
  9. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    I think that flashcart is supported by YSmenu. It uses a different loader (which has a higher compatibility, as far as I know), so it might work.


    You should have said so to begin with. Although he had an attitude, his suggestion was logical, and he even backed it up with a source.
     
  10. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    He still didn't have to be a dick about it.
     
  11. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, wait. I'm so sorry. I didn't look at when you joined. There are many threads of spamming members.
    I'll try a bit nicer approach:

    You may be able to load Mario Party DS with YSMenu (the *.nds file) as suggested by s4mid4re.
    Also a few good troubleshooting questions are:

    1) You have the SD formatted to FAT32, yes?
    2) What is the size and class of your SD? (some people get different results with different sizes/classes)
    3) Did you flash the card with an update? (ie did you go to the update menu on the R4i's menu and update that)

    Aside from that you can always contact the R4i SDHC team and report a problem and they will fix it. (and they have in the past)
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. ElvinBautista
    OP

    Newcomer ElvinBautista Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    It ended up being my MicroSD card, when i first tried this, it was on a 1GB. My New 16GB seems to have fixed the problem.

    Thanks everyone. and as for the generic flash cart, i bought it because it was from a US vendor (www.realhotstuff.com) and i wanted it by today so i could play mario party DS with some friends.
     
  13. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,766
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    I think all flashcarts are pretty much the same now (except the really odd/old ones especially the ones that work on the 3DS).
     
  14. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    It most likely didn't have anything to do with the capacity of the card. The problem was either the speed or the class, or both.
     

Share This Page