I've been a muppet - GX Loader cIOS222......

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by ScoobyDoo555, Dec 13, 2010.

Dec 13, 2010
  1. ScoobyDoo555
    OP

    Newcomer ScoobyDoo555 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All,

    Noobie here (and certified idiot/luddite).

    I've got a Wii running GX Loader V1 with a hard drive full of games. It's been working great for over 12 months! I even managed to install the Black Ops update and it worked!!!

    However my talent/luck ran out when for some reason, I changed my GX Loader setup to boot from cIOS 222 rather than the 249 (where it worked perfectly!) - don't ask, I was messing!

    I now have a black screen after clicking on GX Loader from the Wii menu [​IMG]

    Please please PLEASE how do I get it back - I've jsut had to send the kids to bed as they can't play on it!!

    I'm hoping it's something I can do on the SD card.....

    Thanks in advance,

    Dan
     
  2. PeregrinFig

    Member PeregrinFig A miserable little pile of secrets

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Strange. Maybe it's an issue with the forwarder channel. Did you try loading it from the HBC instead? If that works, then you could just try uninstalling and reinstalling the forwarder.
     
  3. ScoobyDoo555
    OP

    Newcomer ScoobyDoo555 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the quick response (getting glares from the Wife now!!)

    No, running from HBC still ends up with a black screen.

    would changing the boot to 222 make a difference (or have I really fooked this up?! [​IMG] )

    I'm only pointing to this as this was the only setting I changed then it went black-screen on me.....

    Dan
     
  4. PeregrinFig

    Member PeregrinFig A miserable little pile of secrets

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, that is strange. In that case, delete the .dol and all files associated with USB Loader GX off your SD card, then try redownloading it. If that doesn't work, I really have no idea how to fix this.
     
  5. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    dou you have IOS 222 installed on tour wii?
     
  6. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I did this before. Just install cIOS222 (make sure it is v4, not v5. IIRC USB Loader GX will not load with v5). After that just change your boot IOS back to 249.
     
  7. ScoobyDoo555
    OP

    Newcomer ScoobyDoo555 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would make sense - GX loader's trying to run off 222 (and it may not be installed)

    I've found a link or two for 222, but what size is it -

    http://www.filecrop.com/cios-222-installer-v4.html

    some are 1.94Meg, others are 5.74

    which one's the right one?

    Dan [​IMG]
     
  8. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    you can use modmii to download the ios or you can rehack your wii with it and you will be sure that your softmods are up to date
    and i also reccomend you using configurable usbloader or wiiflow because GX is very buggy
     
  9. ScoobyDoo555
    OP

    Newcomer ScoobyDoo555 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll be honest here - you've lost me!

    I have just tried to install Hermes 222 v4, but it came up as "bad".....

    Would I be correct in saying that if I can get Modmii (link would be really useful [​IMG] ) - install this on the Wii's SD card/run it
    Then use a different USB loader?

    Sorry, but I'm taking out all assumptions that I know anything, and going back to "breathe in breathe out" status!!

    All of your help is most appreciated!! :-)

    Dan
     
  10. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    Link:ModMii
    select the first option, follow the guide and dont alter ANY steps
     
  11. ScoobyDoo555
    OP

    Newcomer ScoobyDoo555 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just looking at it now - gotta run it in "crossover" - I'm on a Mac (sorry!) [​IMG]
     
  12. bulldog7114

    Newcomer bulldog7114 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi im running usb loader gx on IOS 222 AS A DEFAULT through the homebrew channel all i do if a game dont load is change the ios on that game through the games settings. im on rev938 Wanin 20b hermes v5 all games play.
     
  13. ScoobyDoo555
    OP

    Newcomer ScoobyDoo555 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a BIG thanks Porobu [​IMG]

    Stuck in ModMii, and it's worked a treat. All USB functionality has been restored. As have my sleeping in the bed (as opposed to the sofa!) priviledges!! [​IMG]


    Again, thank you very much.

    Thanks to all who suggested solutions - it looks like something got corrupted, however, I've now backed up the SD card transfer so I should be good to go.

    Thankyou :-)

    Dan
     
  14. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the easiest way t fix this is just put your SD card in your computer. then open up "/config/GX_Global.cfg". this is the settings file for the usb loader. find the line that has the setting about the IOS and change it, save the file, and youre done.

    there have been a couple different variations on the settings, so i cant say for sure exactly what values youll see, but heres how i would do it...

    if the IOS setting is a boolean just change it - 1, make it 0. if its 0, make it 1
    if the IOS setting is an actual number like 222, make it 249
     
  15. ScoobyDoo555
    OP

    Newcomer ScoobyDoo555 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for this - I copied the contents of the SD card prior to putting the ModMii stuff on it.

    So I'll have a little look to see what went wrong! [​IMG]

    Nice one [​IMG]

    Dan
     
  16. ScoobyDoo555
    OP

    Newcomer ScoobyDoo555 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Was set up in Boolean - changed the number and it worked fine.

    WOW! Pretty easy when you know eh?

    Learning more and more now.

    Now I've got a working backup that I can go back to, I'm going to look at a different USB loader & get Transformers working!!

    This is a GREAT forum [​IMG]

    DAn

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  17. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Look at CFG
     

Share This Page