Issues with burning to DVD+R's

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Brian117, Dec 13, 2008.

Dec 13, 2008
  1. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Ugh [​IMG],

    Well, I have a Samung TSSTcorp CD/DVDW SH-S182M SB05 PC Burner/Drive.

    I'm trying to burn some "media" ( [​IMG] ) to some TDK/Verbatim DVD+R disc(s).

    When burning using ImgBurn, I set the booktype to DVD-ROM (of course right?)

    When I select my drive, select my media, and then click DVD-ROM, and click "Change", it says "Success!", then I click ok.

    Burning my media at x2.4.

    When I first start the burn, it says "Writing LeadIn", and just stays at that.

    I notice that the "Write Retries" keep going up and up. I click ImgBurn Log, and there's lots of yellow exclamation points next to this, "W 16:48:03 Retry Failed - Reason: Power Calibration Area Error"

    My drive HAS to support DVD+R right? I mean, it can burn to DVD-R's perfectly with no problem.
     
  2. Ivoire

    Newcomer Ivoire Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    I had that problem when I got my new drive. What I did to fix it was:

    1) Open Device Manager
    2) Open IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers
    3) Uninstalled entries
    4) Reboot.

    When I started back up, everything reinstalled and I didn't have that Power problem.

    So try that, hope it works out.

    Edit: Also, try this post for booktype
    How to set the Booktype....
    It's a nice guide by Kitt050383.
     
  3. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, uninstalled what I could.

    Rebooted, it DID reinstall items,

    But still the SAME problem ;~;

    EDIT:

    And thanks for that guide.

    But their instructions don't match what I'm seeing.

    I can't even select what booktype to use.
     
  4. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What about trying Nero?

    I have the same burner but no problems whatsoever with Nero.
     
  5. Ivoire

    Newcomer Ivoire Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Hum.. maybe you could update your IDE drivers, and the firmware for your drive. That's about the last thing I can think of doing.
     
  6. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I will try Nero. Thanks ashesburn.


    And I've updated each and every driver, some of them say they can't find a better firmware than I have now.

    Thanks for your help Ivoire!
     
  7. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do post back and let us know if the problem was because of the burning software. I personally would like to know very much. Cheers! [​IMG]
     
  8. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I'm trying to install Nero 9, trial version. And apparently the serial number I enter is too old.

    Tf?
     
  9. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use Nero 7. Didn't really like 8 or 9.
     
  10. Chanser

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    I noticed you posted the same topic in CDFreaks, buy a new DVD burner? Cheap as chips nowadays.
     
  11. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'm trying everywhere to find my answer. As I don't want all these DVD+R's going to waste.

    As for Ashesburn, I got Nero 7. But still the same error.

    I guess my only luck is to just buy DVD-R's, or get a better drive.

    Thanks for all your help people!
     
  12. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry to hear that it still didn't work.

    You're right, the next logical step is to try different media or DVD drives.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page