PS1/2 Issue with Playstation 2 Playing Retails while Modded

RobertX

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
I have been using my Playstation 2 since 2007, and I ran into a weird problem: this silver slim, modded PS2 doesn't read a few retail discs.

I did buy the aforementioned titles secondhand, but I have not really touched them, although they were scrached.

I did simulate a backup scenario using Alcohol 120%, and those worked, while the retail progenitor didn't.

Amazingly, the system runs backups on Ridata discs just fine; only those three retail games don't read.

The message was that the disc was unreadable or words to that effect.

It's just a few weeks ago that the retail copies worked like a charm, albeit scratched.

Should I take the disc to a friend's house to test, or should I just buy a new Playstation 2?

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
Trophies
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
Country
Chile
it shouldn't take a genius to figure out but your backups are in better condition so your ps2 has no problem reading them.
your pc was able to read the originals no problem because pc disc drives are way better than console ones, so your originals are scratched just enough to make them unreadable to your ps2 but perfectly fine for your pc.

RobertX

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Has there ever been a case where the PS2's lenses would deteriorate to the point of only running backup games and not their retail counterparts?

For now, the rest of my collections (yes, retails) are working.

Now, here's another question: is there a dangerous situation caused by an aged PS2?

Thanks!

Last edited by RobertX,

Snomannen_kalle

Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
Has there ever been a case where the PS2's lenses would deteriorate to the point of only running backup games and not their retail counterparts?

For now, the rest of my collections (yes, retails) are working.

Now, here's another question: is there a dangerous situation caused by an aged PS2?

Thanks!