iPhone dilemma

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by R2DJ, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. R2DJ
    OP

    R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,900
    15
    Jan 30, 2008
    London
    Can anyone help me?

    So basically I'm planning to upgrade my PC to Windows Vista (I can't go for 7 as my laptop won't support it...) and I got my iPhone 4 synced up on my laptop with Windows XP. I got a few questions:

    1) Let's say I have already re-formatted my laptop. If I sync my iPhone, will it be recognized as a new device or not?

    2) If yes, then how can I backup my contacts and photos from my iPhone? Also, how will I be able to import them to the iPhone after re-formatting?

    Thanks...
     
  2. Blastoise

    Blastoise GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    336
    2
    Mar 14, 2009
    Yes itll be recognized as a new device.
    If you authorize your computer with your iTunes account you SHOULDNT have to reformat the iPod
     
  3. R2DJ
    OP

    R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,900
    15
    Jan 30, 2008
    London
    So if I de-authorise before formatting THEN authorise it again it should be fine?
     
  4. gameguy95

    gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Banned
    1,119
    1
    Jan 27, 2009
    United States
    Furrytown
    ^yes. exactly...

    you meant formatting the computer, right?
     
  5. R2DJ
    OP

    R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,900
    15
    Jan 30, 2008
    London
    Yeah.

    Does anyone know a way to back up or export my contacts, messages and photos from iPhone?
     
  6. JustChillin1414

    JustChillin1414 <3 Tiny Tina

    Member
    258
    22
    Mar 27, 2009
    Canada
    BC
    Go to itunes, right click on your iphone and click backup. Now you need to backup your itunes library to an external hard drive and when you format your computer, copy the itunes library back to your computer and you can restore your stuff back.
     
  7. R2DJ
    OP

    R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,900
    15
    Jan 30, 2008
    London
    I have 2 partitions on my hard drive (1 for system and 1 for documents). I'm only planning to re-format the system partition. Am I right by saying that, if I delete the iTunes folder in the other partition, I'll lose the backup?

    Also, if I keep the iTunes folder, will the iTunes after re-installing recognise the iPhone as new or not? Because I've reformatted before and after reformatting, when I launch iTunes, my settings and library are kept intact.
     
  8. JustChillin1414

    JustChillin1414 <3 Tiny Tina

    Member
    258
    22
    Mar 27, 2009
    Canada
    BC
    As long as you keep the itunes folder you're comp will recognize it as it was before (not new)
     
  9. R2DJ
    OP

    R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,900
    15
    Jan 30, 2008
    London
    Alright. Thanks [​IMG]