Installed WiiWare/VC games removed?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DemonParasite, Mar 29, 2009.

Mar 29, 2009
  1. DemonParasite
    OP

    Newcomer DemonParasite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I powered on my Wii today, having not used it for a couple days, and found that all my installed WiiWare/VC games were removed. Unofficial channels such as Gecko OS are still on there, along with games I actually bought. My channels and save files for installed games were removed, sadly. I am on 3.2U Wii, and have not done anything to make it do this. A friend of mine, also on 3.2U, had the same thing happen to him. Can someone explain to me why this is happening, and how I can prevent it?
     
  2. bolex17

    Member bolex17 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Australia
    I had the same problem, It also deleted my Virtual Console save files. [​IMG]
     
  3. lavamasta

    Member lavamasta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    same thing happened to me when i installed a new .app file for my menu theme and then i looked at my games and they were gone except the ones i bought, but it's easy enough to get em back [​IMG]
     
  4. YellowYoYos

    Member YellowYoYos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    The same thing happened to me! I was playing star fox 64 VC for an hours or two and I paused the game and left the wii sit in for about 2 hours then turned it off and went to sleep. then the next day I wake up and turn on the Wii and ALL of my VC/WiiWare games and there save fies where gone! No joke I have no clue of how this would of happened, I Checked the firmware and it still says 3.2E so it didnt update itself, and wiicinnect24 has always been off. It's not that it's that big of a loss because I have back ups but still very weird, glad it's not only happened to me.
     
  5. geegee

    Member geegee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Its linked to a bug in preloader. I guess it happens when you make changes in preloader, probably when you attempted to install or load a file and were given an error.
     
  6. bolex17

    Member bolex17 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Australia
    I am curious as to what has caused this. Prior to losing the games I was playing around in the Preloader menu changing the standby option. Hrmm..

    Edit:
    Beaten !
     
  7. lavamasta

    Member lavamasta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    oh ya... lol i was changin things with preloader... i rememberXD
     

Share This Page