Help with firmware 4.2E Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by _pedro_, Oct 12, 2009.

Oct 12, 2009

Help with firmware 4.2E Wii by _pedro_ at 9:34 PM (2,069 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. _pedro_
    OP

    Newcomer _pedro_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All,

    Excellent site and the guide threads are very informative. I've managed to get my Wii, which is running firmware 4.2E, to the stage where it has homebrew on it after being installed with bannerbomb etc but I'm having trouble with the next steps. I basically want to get it to the point where I can play back ups via a USB loader.

    After installing homebrew I believe I need to patch the cIOS36 using trucha bug 1.5. but I plan to back up the NAND first, although several threads on here seem to indicate that its pointless as bootmii is installed as an IOS. I've read through the guide threads and I'm a little confused as to the next steps.

    Thread with 4.2 guide

    The above thread talks about using any deleter to detete selected IOS files from the system but that conflicts with any of the DOs and DONTs where it states that none of the IOS files should be deleted.

    Any pointers on my next steps would be appreciated.
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It is safe to delete the IOS's in the guide because there stubb IOS's installed by 4.2 update and they do nothing

    just follow the guide and read every step twice to make sure your not missing anything
     
  3. _pedro_
    OP

    Newcomer _pedro_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you recommend a guide that will work for 4.2E? The one in the sticky seems ok but doesn't cover the latest version of Trucha Bug. I'm guessing its very similar but flying blind probably isn't the best idea for me to try.
     
  4. mmorpheus1

    Newcomer mmorpheus1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Belarus
    It works fine mate

    i have re-hacked 2 wii's this way after they have done update from shop channel.

    as above follow the steps and check them , only thing i had to do was use Trucha Bug Restorer MOD rather than the included Trucha Bug Restorer. [​IMG]
     
  5. _pedro_
    OP

    Newcomer _pedro_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    does it make much difference if I have the Wii connected via Wifi as opposed to using the WAD files?

    and is preloader required to run the USB loader?

    This is like a can of worms. Questions being answered lead to more questions (well from me anyway)....
     
  6. leemufc

    Member leemufc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    busby land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no you dont need preloader
    preloader is http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Preloader
     
  7. transam81

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    Vote for Pedro! lol nope i never needed preloader to run a usb loader. i also used the 4.2 guide to softmod 2 wiis so far. i had trouble with the preloader install but shortly had it sorted out. xzxero just posted that preloader only help with low lv bricks. im not sure if preloader was worth all the reading i did.
     
  8. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    preloader is a must when bottmii is only available as IOS and you want to mess around with downloaded wad's and Wii theme's
     
  9. _pedro_
    OP

    Newcomer _pedro_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thanks guys.

    I think I need to do the following:

    Run trucha bug to patch the IOS36
    Install the new cIOS using cIOS38r14-Installer
    Then install a USB loader - this is another subject altogether but I'll pu that in the USB forum.

    Posts merged

    I've no intention of messing around with themes or the like. Just want to get it to the stage where I have the Wii able to play backups via USB, that being said my bootmii is only installed as an IOS.
     
  10. transam81

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    see im trying to get clarification on that. i always figured if i brick then i could hold reset on startup then choose to boot HBC hit the home button choose bootmii and install my saved nand, but it seems there are times when that wont work? they just put up a guide for safemii, i hope someone can do the same for preloader+bootmii ios.
     
  11. _pedro_
    OP

    Newcomer _pedro_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Found Amarokz's guide that I followed and have gotten everything to work via the USB loader.

    Thanks for the help. The positive feeback really helped me believe what I was doing would work.
     

Share This Page