Help please! 3ds error

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by spyhunter, Nov 14, 2011.

Nov 14, 2011

Help please! 3ds error by spyhunter at 11:35 PM (2,204 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. spyhunter
    OP

    Newcomer spyhunter Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a 3ds.. purchased about a month ago. Has latest system update.. works great, has absolutely no mods of any kind.

    problem is with Rune Factory 3 DS game purchased on ebay.

    On menu game shows up as "Alex Rider Stormbreaker THQ" when I try to open the game I get this message:

    "An error has occured. Press and hold the POWER buttom to turn system off....."

    any ideas what's up?
     


  2. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Wtf... pics?

    Sounds like someone swapped the innards of the card with a Supercard DSTWO... and it just isn't running the latest update?

    (though I can't quite wrap my mind around how the supercard would fit in a regular ds shell with the extra processor on it...)
     
  3. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Err, that means the Rune Factory game that you bought is a fake.

    I'm inclined to think it's a DSTWO. Is there a memory card slot on the cartridge?
     
  4. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    If it's a Rune Factory 3 DS' game cart, but says that it's Alex Rider Stormbreaker THQ, then it's not Rune Factory 3 DS. O-O

    You we're scammed.
     
  5. spyhunter
    OP

    Newcomer spyhunter Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    before today, I had never even heard of DSTWO cards or flashcarts etc... still not sure what they are or do...

    the game came wrapped and the ebay listing said it was New in box... but obiviously not...

    looks just like any other game cartridge... but it does look like it may have been opened.

    Does anyone know if I have anything to be worried about? (aside from not being able to play rune factory)

    I have purchased some dsiware in the past... does the 3ds store any credit card information?
     
  6. ken28

    Member ken28 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    Germany
    if it is a dstwo and if you could find a catridge for it you could play all ds you want ;)
    and no nothing to be worried about,at all
     
  7. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    Also, If you've never heard of flashcarts and such what would make you ask here, I mean we are a hacking/underground/dev comunity and most of the time people discover the site looking for flashcart info.

    and just to troll im gonna tell you this is the wrong section :P
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. spyhunter
    OP

    Newcomer spyhunter Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    ... sucks...

    thanks for the help... if it is a DSTWO, whatever that is... does anybody want it?

    I just googled alex rider and 3ds errors trying to figure it out myself... and found this forum
     
  9. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Does the back of the game card look like this?
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Wasn't Alex Rider one of the Acekard icons aswell? It's hard for me to imagine that he'd get a DSTwo rather than a cheapo card.

    I'd also expect the seller to change the shell of the cartridge, so I don't think there's an SD slot on the back. It's under the shell though, surely.
     
  11. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    ahh. And what sucks about it? You got a pretty cool thing in your hands there(much better then havest moon)! Plus all you really have to do is cut out a small hole and pop in a micro SD and download the latest firmware. http://wiki.gbatemp....SuperCard_DSTWO theres some info on it here if it helps.


    Oh yeah it could be an Acekard since it had a error on latest firmware. In that case you should go here. http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Acekard_2 but its just as good.
     
  12. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you own a DS Lite? That would be a sure way to find out what the cartridge really is.
     
  13. ficarra1002

    Member ficarra1002 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    The alex rider title is there because of a patch on the supercard (I never owned a supercard, but I know acekards used to used the alex rider title also) so it can run on the DSi. I'd buy it, but I'd pay no more than 10$ for it.
     
  14. spyhunter
    OP

    Newcomer spyhunter Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    [sharedmedia=gallery:images:1243]
     
  15. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    ^^^^^
    Thats too bad it doesnt have a slot. But still you should try to open it and give us a picture of that.

    I was thinking it may have old firmware.
     
  16. spyhunter
    OP

    Newcomer spyhunter Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    looked inside cartridge.. 256mb micro sd card.... you guys are " s-m-r-t "
     
  17. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Update it - downlol'd Rune Factory 3 anyways. You payed for it afterall.
     
  18. ficarra1002

    Member ficarra1002 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    The title isn't in the firmware, or even on the sd card for the matter. It's patched to the card itself.
     
  19. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    This whole time has been pretty weird though I've never heard of someone getting a flashcart in a DS game casing.

    then please explain how the AK2i changed cover games when it first updated to bypass the 3DS?
     
  20. gameandmatch

    Member gameandmatch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Everywhere and Nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    what started to be a case of bad luck turned into a stroke of good luck
     

Share This Page