Hard Drive no longer recognised

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by crinz, Oct 9, 2009.

Oct 9, 2009

Hard Drive no longer recognised by crinz at 8:55 PM (1,459 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. crinz
    OP

    Newcomer crinz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I updated to 4.2E through nintendo and reinstalled HBS, Bootmii and DVDx.

    I then followed the 'Modify any Wii' guide to the last letter multiple times over but i cant get any USB drives to be recognised at all.

    I have tested 4 different drives through HB apps that i used a lot (mplayer, wiixplorer, Triiforce) and also usb loader wich doesnt work either.

    With usb drive plugged in it doesnt give me any options to mount it in HBC.


    Can anyone help with this? My 1TB drive is feeling lonely when it is not plugged in to the Wii.

    Thanks
     
  2. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried the other USB port?

    For USB loader is it Formatted to WBFS?
     
  3. crinz
    OP

    Newcomer crinz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tried both ports and i have 490gb fat32 and 500gb wbfs. same as i had befire i did the update

    Is there any way to downgrade at this point? i dont have a NAND backup, could i use someone else's ad convert it to run o nmy Wii??
     
  4. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any reports of this happening to others? I did something similar to this and my drive worked fine. It doesn't make much sense since as soon as something other than the system menu loads, the system menu itself should make no difference.
     
  5. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Is the WBFS the first patrition on the drive?
     
  6. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    reinstall your cIOS rev
     
  7. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    what about your cios202?
     
  8. jameswm

    Newcomer jameswm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm on firmware 3.2 and I have HBC 1.0.3 and 1.0.6 installed. My HD just works with 1.0.3.
     
  9. crinz
    OP

    Newcomer crinz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have uninstalled and reinstalled cios numerous times. I think i will just virginize my wii and start from scratch. I have been instaling stuff over each other thus far which cant be good.

    I havent heard of anyone else having this problem. If you leave this thread as dormant i will post back if the solution is interesting

    thanks everyone for your ideas and trying to help

    cheers
     
  10. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    yeah i think so too...this happened to me before for. i also started from scratch. have you tried xzxero's guide? if not, i recommend you to follow it and you'll be just fine. good luck. [​IMG]
     
  11. dottor_male

    Member dottor_male GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm on 4.2E and everything works. I used the "Safe 4.2 upgrader", wich doesn't install the IOS Stubs. Maybe your cios249 is a stub so it doesn't work.
     
  12. crinz
    OP

    Newcomer crinz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    welli updated y wii gain through nintendo servers to take it back to virgin.

    followed the guide to the last letter. deleted the stub ios's, reinstalled cios etc etc


    still no usb support at all. The USB ports power my HDD so i know there is power getting to them but just cant get anything to recognise they are there


    Please!!! :-(
     
  13. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    next time do not update anything from ninty...this has been the reminder since...checkout your cios249, cios222/223, and cios202 for these are those connected to usb hdd loading. try using signcheck to check the condition of your cios...
     

Share This Page