Hard Drive kills Wii power

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mist8rio, Oct 15, 2009.

Oct 15, 2009

Hard Drive kills Wii power by mist8rio at 4:41 AM (935 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. mist8rio
    OP

    Newcomer mist8rio Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I'm running a Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 internal hdd in a LaCie external case and after 20mins or so of play time it completely kills the power on the Wii. Always happens at around the same time length. The power light on the Wii is off (not even red as in standby) and won't power back on until I unplug it (Wii) and plug it back in. The case has its own power adapter. Is this some type of hard drive compatibility problem?
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tested it without the HDD being in there as well?
     
  3. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Hey I have a LaCie jump drive shaped like a key! Other than that interesting tidbit, I have no idea about your problem, probably just an incompatibility with the harddrive. Maybe if you delete the programs that came with the HD (if they are still there) Its probably an auto shutdown feature but for some reason its messing with your wii.
     
  4. mist8rio
    OP

    Newcomer mist8rio Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    On the PC? Used to be a computer hard drive in good working order. Don't have another case to try on the Wii though. I completely reformatted it in windows and then on WBFS. Unlikely any programs are still there.
     
  5. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Then its probably just incompatible because of an auto-sleep
     
  6. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I have never heard of a formatted HDD having auto-sleep...

    Like someone has already suggested, have you tried playing it without the HDD? I doubt it's the HDD, especially if it has it's own power.
     

Share This Page