Handheld fan motors

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by _V1qY, Aug 25, 2013.

1. _V1qY
    OP

_V1qY GBAtemp Regular

May 31, 2012
    I'm building a quadcopter, (I have no experience), and I need to buy 4 motors, two will go clockwise, and two will go anticlockwise, they will need to be able to go different speeds. Ebay found this for me:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hubsan-X4...sGames_RadioControlled_JN&hash=item338461d59a

With is good, but it's a tad expensive. I don't even know if I'm going to be able to get this thing to work, so I don't want to spend much money on it.

So I searched 'handheld fan', knowing that they are mass produced and would be cheaper; I found these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mini-Pock...arden_Hearing_Cooling_Air&hash=item1c286ab22b

Buying 4 of these would be 3x less the price, and would include batteries (which I could use for other things, I know a quadcopter would need a lipo battery).

So I have to ask, would the motors in the handheld fans be able to go either direction? And would they be able to go at different speeds? I assume applying a different voltage would change the speed, and swapping the polarity would swap the direction, but as I say, I have no experience and am unsure.

So could someone shed some light on how to get some dirt cheap motors which would be suitable for quadcopters?

2. Ubuntuの刀

Ubuntuの刀 :^D

Apr 12, 2009
    United States
    I stopped reading the post after this word and declared it a troll thread.

3. _V1qY
    OP

_V1qY GBAtemp Regular

May 31, 2012
    Ammako and Ericthegreat like this.
  4. Hells Malice

Hells Malice Are you a bully?

GBAtemp Patron
    Hells Malice is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Apr 9, 2009
    Canada