Hacking Hacking to save bricked Wii?

Cuber456

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
123
Country
United States
I have an unhacked Wii (v4.3). Recently it started having problems where the screen will go black on bootup (or when returning to the main menu).

Trying to determine if I might be able to fix this problem if I hack it with Letterbomb. I’m entirely unfamiliar with the Wii hacking scene which is why I’m asking, is it worth it? If I can save the console then I’ll do it. Any insight is appreciated.

Thanks
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
10,497
Trophies
1
XP
6,062
Country
United States
I have an unhacked Wii (v4.3). Recently it started having problems where the screen will go black on bootup (or when returning to the main menu).

Trying to determine if I might be able to fix this problem if I hack it with Letterbomb. I’m entirely unfamiliar with the Wii hacking scene which is why I’m asking, is it worth it? If I can save the console then I’ll do it. Any insight is appreciated.

Thanks
That's not bricked
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,374
Country
Canada
That sounds more like hardware failure than something software wise. Does it ONLY happen when you go to the main menu? And how frequently is it?
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

Cuber456

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
123
Country
United States
Bricked might be a poor choice of words on my part but there’s a definite problem.

From what I can tell yes. It only happens going to the main menu. How often it happens is a bit of a crapshoot. I can try turning it on from cold and the screen will be black with no controller input. Leave it on for a minute, force turn it off and then back on and then it boots up like normal. Kind of still experimenting but I don’t really get it.
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,374
Country
Canada
Is there sound when the picture doesn't show up? And is the disc drive running (If a disc is inserted)?
 

Cuber456

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
123
Country
United States
No sound on the black screen. I can put a disk in and eject the disk. The disk drive also seems to run/spin but not much else when it’s on the black screen.
 

Cuber456

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
123
Country
United States
You asking does it only black screen when loading the main menu? From my experience since it started a day or 2 ago, yes. If I can get to the main menu, I believe it has been fine loading up games. I should experiment a little more to exhaust possibilities but I am leaning yes.
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,374
Country
Canada
Yeah, try playing a game for a while and report back with your findings. What I'm thinking is either your GPU is faulty, or the composite/component cables are going bad (with me leaning more on the GPU being faulty).
 

Cuber456

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
123
Country
United States
I’d rule out the cables only because my TV does detect a 480p signal when the Wii is on regardless of the black screen. When the Wii black screens, the Wiimote can’t sync to the console. I can’t imagine why loading the main menu would cause this. I’ve been playing a game for about an hour without it freaking out. I’ll continue to experiment tho because maybe I can crash it in other ways.
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,374
Country
Canada
Actually, weird little test here, but can you get the Wii to black screen again, and while it is black screened, press the power button the Wii Remote, and also check what colour the light is on the Wii itself (Red, Yellow, or Green)
 

Cuber456

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
123
Country
United States
The light on the Wii? When it’s on, it’s always green regardless if it’s a black screen or functioning normally. When it’s off, by normal shutdown or I force it to shutdown, it’s always red. It used to be yellow on a normal shutdown but that was when i had WiiConnect24 enabled and there’s no point in that on an unmodded Wii. Does that answer your question?

Also another discovery, when I was in a game and tried doing a software reset, it went to a black screen. But again, it’s like a crapshoot because I’m trying to crash it again with a software reset and it’s being stubborn. I’m not going to lie, I don’t get it.
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,374
Country
Canada
So basically the Wii seemingly randomly crashes, but it occurs most often when a new process starts (i.e. Opening the system menu/launching a game.) You could always try to softmod the console and mess around with it, but I'm pretty sure that this is some sort of hardware failure. (And yes. I was seeing if the light went yellow and the Wii went into an idle state.)
 

vuhoangtrung

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
17
Country
Vietnam
So basically the Wii seemingly randomly crashes, but it occurs most often when a new process starts (i.e. Opening the system menu/launching a game.) You could always try to softmod the console and mess around with it, but I'm pretty sure that this is some sort of hardware failure. (And yes. I was seeing if the light went yellow and the Wii went into an idle state.)
dear FEF1, i'm sorry when ask you about my case in this post, but i don't know how to message for you, so please review my file (error screen) below, i cannot do anything when turn on Wii, just this screen display and cannot press any button to access menu, please help, thanks
 

Attachments

  • wii.jpg
    wii.jpg
    702.2 KB · Views: 190

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,374
Country
Canada
Do you have a Gamecube controller or a Wii Remote that is synced up to that wii and charged. If so, just click on the System Menu option. If not, then either try to sync up a Wii remote (Not sure if you can in Priiloader), or turn of the Wii and mess with the reset button (on the Wii) a little bit before turning it back on. It may be stuck pushed in.
 

vuhoangtrung

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
17
Country
Vietnam
Do you have a Gamecube controller or a Wii Remote that is synced up to that wii and charged. If so, just click on the System Menu option. If not, then either try to sync up a Wii remote (Not sure if you can in Priiloader), or turn of the Wii and mess with the reset button (on the Wii) a little bit before turning it back on. It may be stuck pushed in.

i haven't gamecube, Wii remote just blink 4 light and no-sync
what you mean "mess with the reset button"? press many times or open wii and clean the button?

can we use a usb or sd card to boot and setup new firmware for console? i don't need backup anything in this console

thanks,
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,374
Country
Canada
By "mess with the reset button" I mean to just push it a couple of times, maybe wiggle it some. I'm saying to do that because this is Priiloader, a screen that comes up when you hold down the reset button when you turn on your Wii, so maybe the button is stuck.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KokoseiJ

vuhoangtrung

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
17
Country
Vietnam
By "mess with the reset button" I mean to just push it a couple of times, maybe wiggle it some. I'm saying to do that because this is Priiloader, a screen that comes up when you hold down the reset button when you turn on your Wii, so maybe the button is stuck.

i tried push [reset] many times, so nothing happen

my kid said they tried to format memory, but they don't know what's the memory (SD card or Wii)?
after that, turn on Wii and this screen display

can we have anything to try?

thanks,
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,374
Country
Canada
Well... it's not throwing an error, so that's good. What happens when you click the reset button while in Priiloader?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: im so dedicated to dark mode that even my skin is dark