1. leonmagnus99

    OP leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,678
    Country:
    Iraq
    I would like to know if i should be updating it as the ones we have in store are probably on a very old firmware,

    asking 'cause just for a possible future hack !?

    i think that the ps4 is looking like another vita in terms of the hacking scene,

    which makes me think that the ps4 ends up only playing ps3 backups (like the vita can play psp backups).

    and that isnt really worth it to wait for me as i already have a ps3 with rebug cfw on it.

    so i guess i can just go on ahead and update it , or what you guys think about it !?
     
  2. mightymuffy

    mightymuffy fatbaldpieeater
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,804
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I can guarantee the LAST thing a hacked PS4 will be doing is playing PS3 backups.....;)

    As for your question, well it's the same as everything else - if you don't mind not being online (which is more of an issue with PS4/One due to half the games being released in a messy state) and think running PS4 backups is more important then don't update and hope whatever you're after turns up....
     
    leonmagnus99 likes this.
  3. leonmagnus99

    OP leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,678
    Country:
    Iraq
    thanks :) , might be forced to update if i want to play online i guess @[email protected] .. ps4 feels like vita for me .. so i will forget about any hacks for now .
     
  4. GaaraPrime

    GaaraPrime GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    India
    Make sure you get the NEWER MODEL, which has model number CUH-1200 series. It has lower noise levels, consumes up to 36% LESS POWER, has tactile buttons instead of touch sensitive, and sports a uniformly matte surface compared to the glossy surface of the original model.

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-2015-playstation-4-cuh-1200-c-chassis-review

    http://www.in.techradar.com/news/ga...ion-4-dont-Heres-why/articleshow/48711970.cms

    Currently, this model is only available in the 500 Gb model, so avoid the 1TB model. Besides, you can easily swap out and upgrade your HDD in the future if you so desire :)

    Edit: Eurogamer says...
     
    Last edited by GaaraPrime, Dec 27, 2015
    leonmagnus99 likes this.
  5. leonmagnus99

    OP leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,678
    Country:
    Iraq
    thaaanks i will look into it ! if we have the newer models around i might buy that instead :)

    but bro, here the shops sell two variants mostly like they say one is Jap and one is US i guess the ntsc-j thing .. like the old sony consoles

    but for ps4 it is cuh, anyway they say that the internet speed is faster on the U.S/EU models but i dont believe their shit XD they are so stupid the Game shop owners most are dumb.. so i guess it doesnt matter even if i get a Jap console in the end .
     
  6. GaaraPrime

    GaaraPrime GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    India
    The PS4 is region free, so shouldn't be a problem. Although do a little search as to whether DLCs of a particular game or other stuff are also region-free or not. You also need to check how PSN Plus works for an Out of Region console.

    I am not aware of the Pros and Cons of using an Out of Region PS4 as I don't own that console myself, but maybe someone who does can shed more light on this.

    About the internet speeds, I don't think there would be any differences in speed UNLESS the Jap PS4 is trying to connect with the Japanese Servers or something :P and since they're actually pretty far away, the speed might differ. THIS IS PURELY SPECULATION :P I have no idea how it works :P

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    By the way, even though the PS4 is region free, I don't think the bluray movies it plays would be region free too. So figure out which region bluray movies you get at your place and try to invest in a PS4, which plays those region's bluray movies. It's a fantastic bluray player, so why give up on that feature :D
     
    leonmagnus99 likes this.
  7. buy the old ps4 if you want kernel exploit or newer ps4 if you are going to update to play it online.
     
    leonmagnus99 likes this.
  8. leonmagnus99

    OP leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,678
    Country:
    Iraq
    mm, what kernel exploit buddy !? what can we do when that exploit comes out :) ?
     
  9. There is nothing public yet but 1.76 firmware has a confirmed kernel exploit which has already been patched in the resent firmwares.
     
  10. Daggot

    Daggot GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    676
    Country:
    United States
    CTurt the dude who found it and messed around with it (on 1.7 something) announced that he's stopped all research on the exploit but he did release his documentation. There are teasers from team fail0verflow that hint at them getting linux running on the ps4 but like the wii u even if they do show it off I doubt they'll release their findings so you'd have to wait further.
     
    Last edited by Daggot, Dec 27, 2015
  11. if you can buy a ps4 on 1.76 or lower and store it until the time comes you will have a jail-broken ps4.... it will get released at some point by someone.
     
  12. leonmagnus99

    OP leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,678
    Country:
    Iraq
    even when it does come out, i just hope it wont be like the shitty True Blue dongle crap that i once wasted 100$ on some 4-5 years ago :/

    as after roughly a year the TB dongle became useless and i threw it away or sometihng.(cause CFW came out)
     
  13. tbb043

    tbb043 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,755
    Country:
    United States
    "Currently, this model is only available in the 500 Gb model, so avoid the 1TB model. "

    That's outdated info. While it's possible you could still run across old model 1TB systems in stores due to old stock, new 1TB systems are the new model now.

    Also, it may run quieter but the new model also runs a little hotter. In the long run that might be a problem, but for now we just don't know.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Question, probably, Getting