Getting a new graphics card

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Elias843, May 11, 2009.

May 11, 2009

Getting a new graphics card by Elias843 at 5:37 PM (4,161 Views / 0 Likes) 59 replies

  1. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I want to get a graphics card for my Dell Dimension 5150, but this is my first time dealing with any, so I'm not sure what to get.

    My PC specs at the moment:

    Windows XP Home edition with service pack 3
    Intel pentium D CPU 2.66GHZ
    3GB of RAM

    This is more info about my computer:
    <a href="http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim5150/en/sm/parts1.htm#wp1384755" target="_blank">Dell Dimension 5150</a>

    I have a 17" Dell E177FP with a screen resolution of 1024*768, (I think I'll run games at the same resolution?)

    I was thinking of getting something like a Nvidia 95/600 GT or an ATI Radeon HD 3650.
    They all should be able of running games like COD 4/5 and Left 4 Dead.
    Not sure about GTA 4 or crysis, I know you need a very powerful card for crysis which is too expensive so..
    I'd also like to overclock my card, but I'm not too sure on how to do that, so any guides would be very useful, Thanks.

    I'm sure that my computer supports PCI-E 16X but I'm not sure about 2.0

    Any help and info is greatly appreciated. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/biggrin.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":D" border="0" alt="biggrin.gif" />

    If you need me to give any more information, just ask. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":P" border="0" alt="tongue.gif" />

    <b>Edit:</b> Not sure if this helps but here you go:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     


  2. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thanks, are PCI-E 1.X cards alot weaker compared to 2.0, or running a 2.0 card on a 1.X slot compared to a 2.0 slot?

    Edit:Did you delete your post?
     
  3. Raki

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    this board will most likely not support 2.0 PCI-e
    Well a 3650 is quite weaker than a 95/96 00GT. I would take a look on your PSU...afaik Dell uses custom ones, so it would be a hassle to replace. So you should check how much W it gives and how much ampere on the 12 V rail
     
  4. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You reminded me, I wanted to ask how do I check the amount of power my PSU gives out
     
  6. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    well I had a 5100 so I can tell you with confidence that it doesn't support PCI-E 2.0, however all 2.0 does is up the bandwidth, allowing you to play better at insane resolutions (1024x768 is about as low as resolution goes nowadays). I have no idea what the difference between the 5100 and the 5150 is, but my 5100 had a 305W power supply which easily handled an x1650 - one of the most power demanding cards that doesn't require an external power source, so you should be able to use any power cordless card on the market (I recommend an x4670, the most efficient and powerful card that fits that bill). The thing that had me kicking myself when I took my x1650 out of it 2-3 years later to put in my new computer was the fact that the stock PSU has a 6 pin PCI-E power cord and dual 18A 12v rails, probably the same PSU which people had claimed success running the 8800GT (one of the most power-hungry [edit: single core] cards out there) on. Now you have a pentium D, which uses even more power then the P4 which my computer held so I would advise against an 8800 / 9800, but the new 4770 should do well for you
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,183
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    they should start making more cards with 40mm cores soon besides the 4770
    the low power consumption defiantly shows how good the 40mm core affects it
     
  8. dark42

    Member dark42 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    PCIe 2.0 is backwards compatible with 1.0, you can use a 2.0 card in a 1.0 slot and vice versa with no problems.
     
  9. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ATI 4770

    I searched a little on the card and it looks amazing! But I don't want to rush into my decision and find out the card does'nt work [​IMG]
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,183
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I read online that the your PSU is 305w
    its a bit to low for the 4770, your gonna need an upgrade to about 400w-450w
     
  11. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do i upgrade the PSU then?
     
  12. BumFace

    Member BumFace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    UK, London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    buy a new one, lol
     
  13. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol, i just found out what the PSU is [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. ryukyus

    Member ryukyus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Is this website legit, you got a great deal on that ATI, way cheaper than Nvidia, It's very easy, to replace the psu open your case, and check the description on it, compare size with the one you are buying online, then check google, they have a bunch of tuts, if you are new at this.
     
  15. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it is, i order from them all the time, but it's in GBP not dollars
    ATI 4770 what is the difference between all of them?
     
  16. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Welcome to the world of video-card upgrades, TC. These guys were just helping me last week. I finally settled on a HD4670 with a 400w PSU. Seemed like a good combo for my budget PC.
     
  17. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    This isn't your average 305W power supply, it has 264W it can dedicate to the +12V rails which power just about everything in a computer nowadays. Compare this card to a randomly selected 430W PSU on newegg - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817153023 which only has 18A dedicated to the 12V rail, allowing 216W to be allocated there and thus would be even less equipped for his system. According to TechPowerUp the 4770 only needs 258W in their insane system on all rails (3.8 Core i7? sheesh, guaranteed to use more power then your Pentium D) and that is the power the power supply pulled from the outlet, so add in the 86% efficiency and the system only needs 221.88W from the power supply
     
  18. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So it's safe for me to buy a 4770 slot it in and get everything working perfectly? What about overclocking, i read i could clock it to over 1000mhz quite easily but it will make it noisier and hotter, correct?
     
  19. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Well, these guys definitely seem to know more about it than myself, but I did check out that card while shopping around. If memory serves, the 4770 requires a 6-pin power cable to supply 75 watts of power directly to the video card, so you'll probably want to make sure your current PSU is set up for that, even if it can handle the load.

    OT: Is there a piece of software that can tell me how much power is being drawn from my power supply while my PC is in normal operation?
     
  20. Elias843
    OP

    Newcomer Elias843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, here you go
     

Share This Page