Gecko os question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Quinn95, Sep 27, 2009.

Sep 27, 2009

Gecko os question by Quinn95 at 8:33 PM (606 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. Quinn95
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn95 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I have a question I'd love if someone would answer.

    If I install a Japanese wad on my NTSCU wii (Without any region free hacks) can I run it with gecko os?


    And what happens if I install it?
    will it not let me run it the normal way?
     
  2. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Most obviously your Wii will show the installed file (game?) but when executing it wont show anything, possibly freeze.

    You cannot run it with Gecko AFAIK.

    Go and install preloader and get the corresponding hacks.ini for your region and set regionfree options there.

    Other way is use free the wads and free the japanese wad to either your region or to "free".
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't know, but if it does not brick the Wii and does not work from the Wii menu, you can try TriiForce as an alternative to Gecko OS to load it.

    Or you can try to install it to nand emu and play from TriiForce.

    PS: TriiForce will only work with a unmodified game
     
  4. Quinn95
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn95 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Ok thanks for the help guys.
    I'v decided to go with startpatch.

    It says I need a trucha enabled IOS 36 installed, but is there away to see if I have it?
     

Share This Page