Gamecube Isos on Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Sargentcrunch, Nov 30, 2013.

1. Sargentcrunch
    OP

Sargentcrunch Member

Newcomer
    May 26, 2010
    United States
    Hey everyone I recently obtained a Wii (a little late I know :P) But I am interested in playing gamecube games on it. I have done a lot of research the past few days on how this works but I still have a few questions about it.

1. Are SD Cards better then USB drives/External HDD? Or Vice Versa?

My second question is, is this the right way to mod my Wii?

Install Homebrew Channel
    Install Wad Manager
    Instal Dios Mios with Wad Manager
    Place games in USB drive (games/GAMENAME/game.iso)

I feel like I am missing something? I have read tons of tutorials, and they all seem different to me lol. I am not a complete noob to modding systems(I have an account here from modding a DS). But some of this Wii lingo is throwing me off. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I just want to make sure I do this right the first time and don't mess up my Wii.

Thanks!!

-Bryan

2. the_randomizer

the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

Apr 29, 2011
    United States
    Dr. Wahwee's castle
    SD cards have a slower read/write speed and a limited no. of reads/writes. If you don't have a lot of games, a class 10 SDHC card should be fine, but even then, it can be slower.

3. Sargentcrunch
    OP

Sargentcrunch Member

Newcomer
    May 26, 2010
    United States
    Ok, will a micro-sd card in a usb stick be slow? I'd imagine it would be, because I have a 16gb micro-sd card and the T-Flash usb converter that came with my DS R4.

4. Nakamaphil

Nakamaphil Newbie

Newcomer
    Apr 5, 2009
    United States
    The Hdd or usb stick that you use has to be in fat 32 format with 32k clusters. You can use Ease Us Partition master to format or take a current hard driver make a partition.